NPSO presents Bryan Wimberly’s family with Memorial Plaque at banquet


The Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office Reserve Deputy Unit held its annual banquet on Thursday evening, Oct. 20, at Lakewood Inn near Creston.

The speaker was Natchitoches Fire Department Chief of Training/Safety/Hazardous Materials Michael Sesvold.

Deputy Charles Roge was named “2016 NPSO Reserve Deputy of the Year.”
Sheriff Victor Jones, Chief of Patrol Douglas Rachal Jr. and Reserve Deputy-President of Reserve Deputy Board Louis Byers presented Certificate of Appreciation certificates to all members of the Reserve Deputy Unit.

Members of the Unit also presented a Memorial Plaque to the family of Deputy Bryan Wimberly who died during a diving incident Sept. 3, 2016 off the coast of Florida in Dry Tortugas. The plaque honors his service and dedication to the citizens of Natchitoches Parish.

Dep. Wimberly was vice president of the Reserve Deputy Board, a member of the NPSO Search and Rescue Dive Team, City Utilities Director and Chief of Fire District #6, along with many other duties he loved to do while helping others.

Deputies elected to retire his call sign: NP-219

During closing remarks, Jones expressed his thanks to the Reserve Deputy Unit for their loyalty and dedicated service to the citizens of Natchitoches Parish. He also extended his appreciation and thanks to the spouses and family members of reserve deputies for their support.

The NPSO Reserve Unit is a voluntary division of the sheriff’s office, which supplements the patrol division, school activities, festivals, traffic details and other calls for service. The reserve unit is based on very simple concepts: promote citizen involvement in law enforcement and protect the integrity and professionalism of the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Members of the unit are: Deputy Charles Roge, Deputy Emile Metoyer, Deputy Tommy Fatheree, Deputy Louis Byers, Deputy Michael Gillie, Deputy Steven Clanton, Deputy David Stevenson, Deputy J.D. Bonds, Deputy Douglas Rachal III, Deputy Joseph Kay, Deputy Josh Axsom, Deputy Silas Axsom, Deputy Markalyn Williams, Deputy James Maxey, Deputy Bryan Carnline, Deputy Larry Atteridge, Deputy Michael Delrie and Deputy Niandria Harris.

At least eight more reserve deputies are expected to graduate from the NPD Reserve Academy in the next 3 weeks.