Northwestern State soccer’s Van Linder named Co-Coach of Year, joins two Lady Demons on all-state first team

Northwestern State soccer has made a habit of turning back the clock this season to feats not accomplished since most successful era in the early and mid-2000s.

Two Lady Demons earned first-team status on the All-Louisiana Women’s Collegiate Soccer Team, joining head coach George Van Linder as honorees as he named Co-Coach of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Defender Patry Carrion and goalkeeper Alex Latham earned first-team honors at their respective positions on the 11-player team.

NSU hadn’t put multiple first-teamers on the all-state team or had a coach of the year designation since 2002.

Junior forward Esdeina Gonzalez received honorable mention status for the second straight season, joining sophomore forward April Trowbridge on that list.

Van Linder led NSU to a 10-8-1 record, 7-3-1 in SLC play for a No. 3 seed in the conference tournament. The Lady Demons made their first SLC Tournament since 2008 with a five-win improvement from 2015.

Carrion, a Cartagena, Spain, native, played a huge defensive role as the lone centerback, helping NSU to an overall goals against average mark of 1.28 (third in the Southland Conference). Carrion, a first-team all-conference selection, scored two goals and one assist, all involved in game-winners.

Latham, the SLC Goalkeeper of the Year, earned first-team all-state honors with a 1.11 goals against average, making 120 saves (No. 5 in NCAA) with a .851 save percentage (No. 32 in NCAA). The seven shutouts is tied for second in NSU single-season history.
Trowbridge, the SLC Newcomer of the Year, scored a team-high six goals with four assists.

Gonzalez, an all-conference second-team selection, produced a team-high six assists with four goals.

Louisiana Tech coach Kevin Sherry was named Co-Coach of the year with Van Linder.
Tech forward Kathryn Sloan was named Player of the Year with nine goals and three assists.

Other honorees included LSU defender/midfielder Marlena Cutura (Freshman of the Year) and LSU Alexandria junior forward Rhiannon Castle (Newcomer of the Year).
The LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Soccer Collegiate Teams were voted on by the state’s sports information directors. SID’s were not allowed to vote for their own nominees.

2016 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Soccer Collegiate Teams

First Team
Name – School – Pos. – Cl. – Hometown
Kathryn Sloan – Louisiana Tech – F – Sr. – Kansas City, Mo.
Jorian Baucom – LSU – F – Jr. – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Summer Clarke – LSU – F – Sr. – Richmond, B.C., Canada
Jess Coates – Nicholls – MF – Sr. – Sydney, Australia
Savannah LaRicci – McNeese – F – Jr. – Sugar Land, Texas
Rhiannon Castle – LSU Alexandria – F – Jr. – Newcastle, England
Gabi D’Alesandro – McNeese – D – So. – Flower Mound, Texas
Patry Carrion – Northwestern State – D – Sr. – Cartegna, Spain
Ashleigh Cade – Louisiana-Lafayette – D – Jr. – Bonney Lake, Wash.
Yazmin Montoya – Louisiana-Lafayette – MF – Sr. – West Covina, Calif.
Alex Latham – Northwestern State – GK – Jr. – Bradenton, Fla.

Honorable Mention: Kati-Jade Cunningham, Centenary; April Trowbridge, Northwestern State; Mackenzie Higgins, Louisiana-Lafayette; Esdeina Gonzalez, Northwestern State; Nomvula Kgoale, Louisiana Tech; Jordan Carvery, LSU; Bettina Brulhart, McNeese; Kristy Helmers, Nicholls; Brooke-Lynn Scroggins, ULM.

Player of the Year: Kathryn Sloan, Louisiana Tech
Freshman of the Year: Marlena Cutura, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Rhiannon Castle, LSU Alexandria
Coach of the Year (tie): Kevin Sherry, Louisiana Tech; George Van Linder, Northwestern State.