Landowners learn about ways to combat feral hogs

HogDay 10-2017 (2).JPG

Landowners gathered at a Feral Hog Workshop Thursday evening, Oct. 19 at the Grand Ecore RV Park. The Natchitoches Soil and Water Conservation District held the workshop to educate landowners on the following:

Poisons: Ariel Bourgoyne (LSU Ag Center)
Trapping, Transporting and Changes in Feral Hog Laws: Gene Cavalier (LDAF)
Testing Feral Hogs for Diseases: Dr. Christopher Lyles (NSU Biology Dept.)
Update on Natchitoches SWCD Feral Hog Control Program: JD Cox (WRE Technician)

Feral hogs are increasing at an alarming rate, causing harm to water quality, landscapes, gardens and extensive damage to agricultural crops. Control of feral hogs in difficult and entails countless man hours and expense to landowners. Two keys to success in managing feral hogs are trap placement and pre baiting.

NSU has collected five samples in the Cane River Watershed. One out of the five hogs tested positive for Leptospira Interrogens. The hope is to collect enough samples from feral hogs in the area to build a reference library of diseases for quick identification and to determine what percentage of the population is contaminated.

Dr. Lyles asked that landowners contact him when they are trapping hogs so he can collect samples. The samples must be collected within 3 hours of the hogs being killed (Lyles would prefer a shorter time frame). Email him at or call 318-357-6514.

From 2014-2017, 3,774 feral hogs have been removed from Natchitoches parish. The SWCD began a new aerial gunning sign up on Nov. 1, which will conclude on Dec. 22. Land in Natchitoches Parish and land within the Red River Bottomland area are eligible. For information call 318-357-8366 (Ext. 3) or go online to

HogDay 10-2017 (1)

Park in Payne Subdivision gets basketball court

PaynePark 2017 (1)

Bernard Johnson and Pastor Al Harris, members of the Richard Johnson Regional Improvement Foundation, watched workers pour and smooth out concrete for a basketball court at the Richard Johnson Recreational Park Oct. 20 in Payne Subdivision.

Johnson, President and CEO of the Foundation, said they purchased 3.4 acres in 2015 and immediately began clearing it out. With the help of donations from the community and the foundation’s efforts, they raised enough money to begin the first phase of the park, which is the basketball courts. Future phases include a walking track, jungle gym and other playground equipment, a pavilion, baseball diamond and a building to house after school and mentoring programs.

The foundation continues to raise money through a GoFundMe campaign: For more information email or call 318-332-5551.

Saint Mary’s Tigers – The 2015 LHSAA Football Champions!

STMaryTrophy 2017 (2)

Kevin’s Gallery

Tonight was quite the packed evening for the St. Mary’s family. The evening started off with the signature SMS tailgate-easily the best restaurant in town on gameday! It was Senior Night in which the senior football players and spirit group members were recognized before kickoff. Halftime featured the correction of a long running injustice as Louisiana High School Athletic Association Executive Director, Mr. Eddie Bonine, presented the 2015 LHSAA Football Championship Trophy to former SMS Football Coach Lee Doty and the 2015 Tiger Football Team, spirit group members and trainers. The championship, initially won by Southern Lab, was vacated after the LHSAA uncovered several violations. The evening concluded the Tigers imposing a Carthaginian Peace upon University Lab of Alexandria with a decisive 70-6 win.


Two vehicles crash near Payne Subdivision

PayneCrash 10-20-17 (3)

NPSO Patrol Division deputies, Louisiana State Police and Natchitoches Regional Medical Center responded to 911 reports of a two-vehicle crash Oct. 20 at 2:55 pm on Hwy. 6 East near Payne Sub-Division according to the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Both drivers of the 2012 Dodge pickup and 2016 Ford pickup truck were assessed at the scene by EMS.

Troopers assigned to LSP E Alexandria worked the crash.

Lakeview announces Honor Roll

Lakeview Gators

Lakeview Jr/Sr High School Announces Honor Roll for 2nd Quarter (High School) and 1st Nine Weeks (Junior High)

7th Grade A Honor Roll

Hailey Poydras and Jennifer Williams

7th Grade B Honor Roll

Colby Creamer, Mar’Shae Grant, Kearston Nobles, Ja’Torri Phillips, Sammya Rachal, Rene Reliford, and Harli Thomas

8th Grade Principal’s List

Zoie Britt, Aky’a Chatman, Meagan Corley, and Elizabeth Poydras

8th Grade A Honor Roll

Brenden Allen, Allison Anderson, Ashlie Key, Kaitlynn Long, Kandice Palm, Chelsey Winslow, JaMichael Burgess, Liberty Collins, Raymond Connell, Emmanuel Davidson, Antuan Nash, Melik Nora, Dominick Rachal, Mahdi Shuaibu, Asharia Smith, and Edward Smith

9th Grade Principal’s List

Jeffery Custis, James Earp, Carleigh Lofton, Jo Porter, Averianna Slaughter, and Ethan Smith

9th Grade A Honor Roll

Taylor Coutee, Zachery Gorham, Adriunhya Gray, Amber Hembree, Ingerlisha Nicholas, Zenobia Poydras, Da’Marcus Rivers, Jason Smith, and Jeremy Sowell

9th Grade B Honor Roll

Alexia Adams, Anthony Alexander, Dae’Breyuona Bell, Layla Below, Destinee Britt, Amya Broomfield, Aalondra Garner, Makensie Hodges, Sabrina Ivy, U’Donis Jones, Derek Kirts, Kadarius Law, Joshua Mattox, Simon Messengmba, Kinley Nelson, Chloe Peacock, Tapiwa Rubunya, Colby Sepulvado, Darian Sessions, Mykel Slaughter, Shaliyha Smith, Tierra Stacks, and Larry Vaughn

10th Grade Principal’s List

Julie Baldwin, Angel Hayes, Karmen Jarriett, Salem Johnson, Joshua Long, Myla Porter, Anna Smith, Kaycee Smith, Hunter Thomas, Landon Vaughn, and Nick Wiggins

10th Grade A Honor Roll

JaQuan Bobb, William Brew, Diamond Brown, Kadon Cook, , Zackari Favela, A’Shanti Garner, Joshua Graham, Jodie Kerry, Gracie Niette, Shermarcus Page, Jakerian Washington, Emily Windham, Breanna Wyatt,and Daron Williams

10th Grade B Honor Roll

Elizabeth Anderson Takia Ardison, Ka’Brian Bonier, Makayla Cook, Emily Corley, Dacoda Coutee, Junell Coutee, Altorio Holden, Alexis Kinard, Danielle Morrison, Ethan Nelson, Thomas Norman, Mackenzie Phillips, Jh’Kolby Roberson, Raven Speir, Timothy Washington, Airamya Williams, Jasmine Williams, Shaneta Williams, Tyler Williams, and Noah Wilson

11th Grade Principal’s List

Jada Aldredge, LaTia Beavers, Makaila Braxton, Destini Carter, and Madison Hale

11th Grade A Honor Roll

Jalen Benn, Rebecca Guy, LaDashya Hayes, J’eishia Hill, Dillon Longino, Shaa’vareyah Page, Ke’Aira Thomas, Ashley Womack, and Ericka Young

11th Grade B Honor Roll

Joey Blackmon, Taylor Coleman, Taylor Ferrier, Gage Harper, Breanna Harrison, Ulysse Harvey, Martina Jarnagin, Zy-Keious Manual, Cassidy McLendon, Kerrell Nora, A’Keria Payton, Christiunna Pearrie, Nathan Roberts, Jayme Roy, Brittany Sullivan, Sara Sullivan, Jaylan Triplet-Bell, Larry Thompson, Victoria Tune, Tifany Valure, Matthew Vaughn, and Jada Williams

12th Grade Principal’s List

Alyssa Breaud, Quintarious Coleman, Kayla Denham, Mason Harper, Alexis Smith, and Tyler Sullivan

12th Grade A Honor Roll

Alanna Anderson, Robert Barthelemy, Diavione Frazier, Za’Chary Jackson, Jesse Rachal, Brandon Roberts, Terry Rowell, Dwaelon Shepherd, Do’Joureyan Smith, Daviion Telsee, Kamry Toms, and Skylar Williams

12th Grade B Honor Roll

Michael Banks, Serenity Beavers, Shundericka Browder, Trent Collier, Julee Daniels, Elizabeth Dawson, Layton Friday, Katherine Hicks, Jacaria Holden, Devin Irvin, Norman Moreland, Alexcia Pikes, Douglas Reliford, Dalton Riddle, LeAndre’ Ruffin, Skylar Ryder, Nasser Shuaibi, Savannah Walter, Dillan Winslow, Jalen Winslow, and LaDarrion Winslow