Two NSU intramural teams win state championships

Two Northwestern State University intramural basketball teams won state championships at the recent Louisiana Collegiate Intramural-Recreational Sports Association State Championships for basketball and softball. A men’s basketball team and co-rec softball team from NSU finished as runners up.

The men’s open basketball team, R.U.T.S., defeated another NSU team, Juice Athletics, to win the title. The women’s open basketball team, Lady Gators, won the state title. BooWoo Crew, the co-rec softball team, was second in its category.

Members of the Lady Gators were Asia Davis, Jalissa Feagins, Akira Johnson, Harley Lisenby, Hayley Lisenby, Meya Morse, Savonya Robinson, Ebony Terry and Cheyenne Vander. Bobby Armstrong was the coach.

Members of R.U.T.S. were Kobe Ardoin, Armstrong, Eric Baker, Kolby Friday, Chayce Hurst, Michael Joseph, Tyler Paige and Blake Teekell. Shannon Jones was the coach and Jacob Guest was assistant coach.

Members of Juice Athletics were Tracy Wilridge, Kalen Meggs, Norman Meadors, Jacorrian Davis, Oliver Conday, David Holmes, J’haron Whitfield and Kevin Gipson.

The BooWoo Crew included Hogan Nealy, Taylor Trichel, Madison Alexander, Katie Carroll, Tyler Colston, Abram Cook, Cody Hamous, Marco Richard, Madison Rowland, Michael Thomas and Alanna Woodel.

LCIRSA is the governing body of recreation in the state of Louisiana. There were 48 basketball and softball teams from 13 universities.