NSU students named to state Future Educator Honor Roll

Students in Northwestern State University’s School of Education were honored by Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards, Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Kim Hunter-Reed, and State Superintendent of Education John White for being named to the Future Educator Honor Roll. Alli Douet, a secondary education major who will graduate from NSU this fall; Layken Moore, a dual enrollment student from Anacoco High School who will attend NSU this fall to major in elementary education; Heidi Knight Pilcher, a graduating senior in early childhood education, were among 40 future teachers in the state in the first class of honorees recognized by the Louisiana Board of Regents in a program at the state capitol May 7.

From left are NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio, Susan Roberts, instructor of education; Douet, Moore, Pilcher, Dr. Kimberly McCallister, dean of NSU’s College of Education and Human Development, and Dr. Katrina Jordan, director of NSU’s School of Education. A keynote address was provided by Kimberly Eckert, Louisiana’s 2018 Teacher of the Year, who earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees at NSU.