2020 Morgan Scholarship Recipients announced

Members of Alpha Zeta Chapter of Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority at Northwestern State University hosted a virtual program for the Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship April 19 to recognize students who were named recipients of scholarships funded by David D. and Sherry F. Morgan. Special guests included Mr. and Mrs. Morgan of Austin, Texas; Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority National President Natalie Averette of Virginia Beach, Virginia; NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio and Chapter Advisors Jacque Crew and Reatha Cox.

Members of the Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi who were named scholarship recipients were recognized in a virtual announcement April 13. National Pi Kappa Phi Chief Executive Officer Mark E. Timmes and his assistant Vicky Halsey assisted with the fraternity award selection process, along with a panel of alumni from Beta Omicron and Chapter Advisors Doug Ireland and Dr. Chris Lyles. Pi Kappa Phi honored their award recipients through a social media campaign earlier in April.

The annual Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship program, originally scheduled for March 19, was cancelled due to coronavirus safety measures. Cara Davlin of Sigma Sigma Sigma and Javier Garcia of Pi Kappa Phi were banquet co-chairs.

The Morgans, who are long-time supporters of Northwestern State, created the scholarships to recognize members of Sigma Sigma Sigma and Pi Kappa Phi who are committed to going the “Extra Mile” to achieve success. Recipients of First Generation Scholarships are the first in their immediate families to attend college. Members participate in an application process that is reviewed by chapter alumni before selections are made. Since 2018, the Morgans have awarded more than $96,000 in student scholarships.

This year’s Tri Sigma members awarded First Generation Scholarships are Kristen Breedlove of Campti, Shelby Cambre of Livingston, Courtney Chancellor of Gray, Katie Cole of Campti, Kelsi Horn of Many, Lauren Knight of Haughton, Bailee Rattanachai of Haughton, Brette Reaux of Youngsville and Katelyn Stevens of Minden.

Members of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity awarded the Morgan First Generation Scholarships were Allen Ashley of Shreveport, Jonathan Castillo of Bossier City, Javier Garcia of Bossier City and Char’Tarian Wilson of Greenwood.

The Sherry F. Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship was established in 2017 and has since awarded more than $20,000 in student scholarships to members of Sigma Sigma Sigma. This year’s recipients were Hannah Angell of Shreveport, Ryann Bizette of Livonia, Elizabeth Blair of Texarkana, Texas; Elizabeth Coleman of Napoleonville, Natalee Cook of Vivian, Cara Davlin of Stonewall, Grace Gosserand of Ventress, Peyton Harville of Bossier City, Katelyn Kennedy of Baker, McKenzie Knotts of Keithville and Emily Miller of Grand Cane.

Haley Sylvester of Baton Rouge was awarded the Lisa Burton Steadfast Scholarship.

Pi Kappa Phi members who were named David D. Morgan Extra Mile Scholars were Trace Anthon of Hammond, Colton Campbell of Coushatta, Andrew Dubriske of Barksdale AFB, Steven Gardner of Benton, Daniel Larin of Little Elm, Texas; Jacob Norris of Monterey, Nicholas Oliveras of Oak Point, Texas, and Aron Stephens of Franklinton.

David Morgan, a 1973 NSU graduate and alumnus of NSU’s Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi, established the Extra Mile Scholarship in 2008 to recognize members of Pi Kappa Phi who distinguish themselves through academic success, chapter leadership, campus involvement and part-time employment. The scholarship has since grown and is awarded at the national level as well as in the local chapter.

The Sherry Fargerson Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship for Sigma Sigma Sigma was announced in 2017 and mirrors the criteria for Pi Kappa Phi by honoring students who are outstanding and high achieving members of the chapter.

2020 Morgan Scholarships recipients:
2020 Morgan Scholarship recipients are, top row from left, Allen Ashley, Andrew Dubriske, Aron Stephens, Bailee Rattanchai, Cara Davlin, Char’Tarian Wilson, Colton Campbell and Courtney Chancellor. On the second row are Daniel Larin, Elizabeth Coleman, Emily Miller, Grace Gosserand, Haley Sylvester, Hannah Angell, Jacob Norris and Javier Garcia. On the third row are Jonathan Castillo, Katelyn Kennedy, Katelyn Stevens, Katie Cole, Nicholas Alivares, Kelsi Horn, Kristen Breedlove and Lauren Knight, On the bottom row are Libby Blair, McKenzie Knotts, Natalee Cook, Peyton Harville, Ryann Bizette, Shelby Cambre, Steven Gardner and Trace Anthon.