NSU presents alumni awards

The Northwestern State University Alumni Association presented awards to three individuals who distinguished themselves among their fellow alumni by exhibiting dedication and loyalty to NSU’s programs and mission. Presentations were made during last week’s Long Purple Line induction program, held in conjunction with Homecoming festivities.

Recipients are Leah Middlebrook, Volunteer of the Year; Wes Breeden, Outstanding Young Alumni Award, and Lola Dunahoe, Distinguished Service Award.

Middlebrook, the Volunteer of the Year recipient, is a 1986 graduate of NSU. The Volunteer of the Year award is annually presented to an individual who demonstrates an exemplary record of volunteering time, talents and service to the NSU Alumni Association and is actively involved with a chapter, alumni interest group, affiliate program, NSU Alumni Board, or other forms of volunteer service to NSU.

Breeden, the Outstanding Young Alumnus, is a 2003 graduate of NSU. Recipients of the Young Alumni Award have demonstrated an early record of distinguished service to NSU and a continued interest in serving the university as a volunteer, donor or advocate.

Dunahoe, who received the Distinguished Service Award, is a 1971 graduate of NSU. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to an NSU alumnus with a long history of distinguished service to Northwestern and continued interest in serving the university in his/her life as a volunteer, donor and/or advocate.