NSU SGA hosts awards, induction program

Northwestern State University’s Student Government Association honored outgoing officers during the SGA’s annual awards program and induction ceremony. Each was recognized for their contributions to the SGA and service to the university. From left are Secretary Helen Kassahun of Lafitte, Commissioner of Academic Affairs Nicholas Cooksey of Bossier City, Commissioner of External Affairs Juliana Lummus of Spring, Texas; Vice President Carly Blondin of Bossier City, Student Body President Tja’h Edwards of Westwego, Treasurer and incoming Student Body President Bailey Willis of Opelousas, Speaker of the Senate Mariah Kador of Oscar, Commissioner of Student Affairs Kyle Courville of DeRidder and SGA Advisor Mary Katherine Horton.

Northwestern State University’s Student Government Association honored Dr. Yonna Pasch as V.L. Roy Faculty/Staff Member of the Year during the SGA’s end-of-year awards program and induction program for new officers. Pasch is director of Student Affairs. Named after the NSU president who established the Student Government Association in 1925, the award is presented to a member of the NSU faculty/staff who has shown dedication and service to the SGA or the university at large.