ALD celebrates Order of the Torch Award

Members of Northwestern State University’s Alpha Lambda Delta First Year Honor Society held a reception to celebrate chapter success in earning The Order of the Torch Award, the honor society’s highest award presented to the nation’s most outstanding chapter for the 2021-22 academic year. Chapters are only eligible for the award every four years and NSU’s chapter was previously named recipient in 2018.

The successful chapter at NSU was led by Nicholas Cooksey, president; Jenna Pottmeyer, vice president; Emily Farmer, secretary; Jacob Boyter, treasurer; Malaya White, social media chair; Addison Duet, scholarship chair; Zoe Nelson, public relations char; Allyson Roberts, service chair; Sha’Rron Brown, faculty liaison; Sarah Moore, editor; Naje Turner, historian; Leah Thompson, wellness chair, and Ashley Eubanks, junior advisor. Reatha Cox is chapter advisor.

To be eligible for the award, each chapter submits a scrapbook describing their activities during the past year. The scrapbooks are judged by a committee of National Council members, and the winning chapters are presented with an award banner at a special ceremony. Judging is based on chapter involvement, chapter communication, campus visibility and presentation.

The mission of Alpha Lambda Delta is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.