NSU honors distinguished alumni with Long Purple Line induction

Northwestern State University honored six alumni by inducting them into the University’s alumni hall of distinction, the Long Purple Line, as part of Homecoming Festivities Oct. 21. The individuals were recognized during an annual luncheon and induction program with friends, family and supports in attendance. 

The 2022 inductees are Tommy Chester and Lola Dunahoe of Natchitoches, Dr. Johnny Cox of Coushatta. Tynes Hildebrand of Shreveport, Gail Metoyer Jones of Natchez and Carlos Treadway of London, England.

During his induction remarks, Treadway announced the creation of the Carlos Treadway Family Scholarship, initiated with a $15,000 donation to the NSU Foundation. The scholarship will benefit minority students from central Louisiana.

The NSU Alumni Association also presented three individual honors.

Kimberly Martin of Houston was recognized as Volunteer of the Year. The Volunteer of the Year award is annually presented to an individual who demonstrates an exemplary record of volunteering time, talents and service to the NSU Alumni Association and is actively involved with a chapter, alumni interest group, affiliate program, NSU Alumni Board or other forms of volunteer service to NSU.

Dr. Lamar Bryant of Knoxville, Tennessee, was recipient of the Young Alumnus Award, which recognizes those who have demonstrated an early record of distinguished service to NSU and a continued interest in serving the university as a volunteer, donor or advocate.  His wife Kattina accepted the award on his behalf.

John Manno received the Distinguished Service Award.  That award is presented to an NSU alumnus with a long history of distinguished service to Northwestern and continued interest in serving the university in his/her life as a volunteer, donor and/or advocate.

The Long Purple Line luncheon and induction kicked off a weekend of festivities at NSU that included the Homecoming parade, pep rally, football game and several reunions.