Natchez Council recognizes past mayors, others involved in village’s history

The Village of Natchez Council honored past mayors at its Nov. 3 meeting. As the first mayor of Natchez, Pastor Roosevelt Toussaint was given a “key to the city” for his instrumental work to get the village started.

“This is more than I deserve,” he said.

Natchez has had seven mayors.

Pearlie Hamilton served from 90-94, during which she started the Natchez Heritage Festival in 1993 in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the village’s incorporation 

Clay Davis served from 95-99

Lloyd Benjamin Sr. (grandson accepted on his behalf) served from 2002-2006

Annanise Clark served from 82-86

Edna Jones served from 2010-2014

Rosie Humphrey served two terms ending in June of 2022

John Grocce

“We are here because of these previous mayors,” said Natchez Mayor Patsy Ward Hoover.

A community service award was presented to Wynonna Raggio Ladkin, a resident that has been a part of Natchez for a long time. Senator Louie Bernard was also presented with a “key to the city” for his hard work to help the village secure letters of support for grant funding the administration is applying for to improve the town for future generations.