Lady Demons add another arm and bat to signing class

Northwestern State softball added two more names to the stellar 2023 signing class with the addition of another talented arm and offensive firecracker. 

Head coach Donald Pickett announced the signing of pitcher Skye Sharp and infielder Mia Liscano on Thursday, pushing the total for the class to five. 

A McComb, Miss., native, Sharp has been one of the most dominant pitchers in the MAIS over the past three seasons for her Parklane Academy team. 

In each of her three high school seasons thus far, Sharp has a WHIP below 1.00 each season and an ERA below 1.3 every year as well. Just once in the past three seasons has she allowed more than 1.00 earned run a game, holding opponents to batting averages below .170 along the way. This past season teams hit just .116 against her for the season. 

Entering her senior season in 2023, she boasts a 6:1 strikeout to walk ratio with nearly 300 punchouts. 

Sharp has helped her team to four state titles in the MAIS, was named co-rookie of the year in 2018, earned four first-team all-conference and All-MAIS honors and has been named Defensive MVP in each of the past three seasons. 

To go along with the arm talent in the circle from Sharp, Buda, Texas product Mia Liscano brings plenty of production at the plate. 

The Jack C. Hays HS short stop is fresh off a District 26-6A Offensive Player of the Year award following her junior season. It was the second of two straight first-team all-district honors for Liscano as she helped her team to a second straight playoff appearance. 

During the summer, Liscano has excelled for her Hotshots travel ball team by earning TCS Southwest Summer Nationals First-Team and Player of the Tournament this past summer and TFL Summer Championships first-team all-tournament. 

She was also named one of Extra Inning Softball’s Top 100 prospects for the Class of 2023. 

Both Sharp and Liscano are members of the National Honor Society and had their names listed on their school’s Principal’s List or academic all-district awards lists.