NSU’s Parramore, Woodson earn all-academic honors

Northwestern State guards Candice Parramore and Jiselle Woodson have been named to the Southland Conference All-Academic Team, the league office announced on Friday. 

Parramore earned a spot on the first team, to go along with her first-team all-conference selection this season, while Woodson found a spot on the second team, he first postseason award in her time at NSU. 

Parramore paired her team-leading 13.5 points per game and 16.4 per game clip in conference games with a 3.21 GPA in NSU’s criminal justice program. Woodson carried a 3.38 GPA in education while leading the team in assists at 2.4 per game for the season with the fifth best assist-to-turnover rating in conference games this year. 

Parramore finished her final year with the Lady Demons with 12 straight double-digit scoring efforts that included five 20-point outings. She set and then matched her career high of 26 on consecutive Saturdays during league play.  

The Dallas, Texas native led NSU in scoring 13 times on the season and reached double figures in 19 of the 26 games she played this year. She became the first NSU player in nearly 30 years to make 100 free throws in consecutive seasons and ended her career as NSU’s leader in free throw percentage at .850 (243-for-286). 

Woodson saved one of her best performances for the biggest stage of the season by tying the SLC Tournament record with seven made 3-pointers in a game. She also set the tournament record for 3-point percentage at .875 (7-for-8) and scored a career high 32 points in NSU’s conference tournament game against Texas A&M-Commerce. Her 30-point performance for an NSU woman since the 2019-20 season.  

Woodson also scored the game-winning layup with 6.5 seconds remaining to give NSU its first home win against Lamar since 2008. 

NSU is one of three teams with multiple selections on this year’s team, which are chosen by the league’s head coaches, sports information directors and academic coordinators. 

The duos selection to the all-academic teams are the first for NSU women’s basketball since the 2018-19 season, and it is the first time since Janelle Perez and Beatrice Attura in 2015-16 that the Lady Demons had two honorees on the academic teams.