Sheriff Wright Awards Scholarships To College-Bound Teens

Sheriff Stuart Wright announced that Trent Middendorf of Natchitoches Parish has been named the recipient of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program for the 2022-2023 school year.  He resides in Natchitoches and plans to attend Louisiana State University. His field of study is Finance with a minor in Sports Studies.  Trent’s parents are Zachary and Alexandra Middendorf.

The Sheriffs’ Scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP).  Louisiana Sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school students from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the Program.

Qualities such as academic achievement, leadership, and character are considered in making selections of Sheriffs’ scholarship recipients.  The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State; and students must be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students.  Scholarships will be awarded in sixty-four parishes throughout the state.

“Hailey Poydras and Cenaiya Ratliff were named as alternates and will receive an academic scholarship from the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office,” according to the Sheriff.

In closing Sheriff Wright said, “Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about.  This is one of our finest accomplishments.  It invests in Louisiana’s future and gives something back to our community.  This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of Natchitoches Parish’s Honorary Members. ”