Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches Hosts Banquet; Installs New Officers; Recognizes Community Heroes

1. Past President Tony Hernandez and Incoming President Haley Blount

October 1, 2015. The Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches installed new officers for the 2015-2016 year during their annual awards banquet on September 24, 2015 at the Natchitoches Events Center.  New officer terms began on October 1, 2015.

Kiwanis District Governor Gary Graham installed the officers, and outgoing President Tony Hernandez presided over the ceremony. Hernandez handed the reins of leadership over to new Kiwanis President, Haley Blount.  Hernandez states, “What a humbling experience to be able to serve our community as President of Kiwanis club of Natchitoches!  Thank you to everyone that took the time to help with my year as President, especially my wife Rhonda.”

According to Blount, “I am honored to serve as this year’s President of the Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches.  I promise to stay true to our mission of changing the world, one child and one community at time, starting right here in Natchitoches.  I invite all members of the Natchitoches community to join me and the Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches as we work together to enhance the quality of life of those around us.”

Joining Blount as new Club Officers were President Elect LaCarsha Babers; First Vice President Dion Boyett (Memberships); Second Vice President Rodney W. Boswell (Programs); Immediate Past President Tony Hernandez; and Secretary Lt. Gov. Richard Rose (2014-2015). Club member Nettles Brown will continue his tenure as Treasurer.

Additionally, members Mike Fox and Laura Mayeaux were appointed as first-year Club Directors, alongside standing Director’s John Cunningham, Greg Dunn, Annette Sterling Roque, Lee Waskom, and Heather Martin.

The Kiwanis Club also awarded several community awards at the banquet.

Lawman of the Year – State Trooper was awarded to two individuals this year: Retired State Trooper Michael L. Burns and Senior Trooper Christopher Wright. Officers Burns and Wright were presented their awards by Commander Jay Oliphant.

Chief Brad Walker presented the Lawman of the Year – City Police Officer award to Officer Christopher Knight.