NSU recognizes top graduates

Top Grads - Morning

Northwestern State University recognized its top graduates from the Louisiana Scholars’ College, the College of Arts and Sciences and the Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development prior to morning commencement exercises Dec. 18. Summa Cum Laude graduates who maintained a 4.0 average are, seated from left, Carly Paige Funderburk of Florien, Lesley S. Dykes of Daphne, Alabama; Lauren Elizabeth Carroll of Monroe and Jennifer Briann Barnhill of Olla. On the back row are commencement speaker and NSU alumna Nicole Vasquez, 2016 Louisiana High School Teacher of the Year; Joanna Elizabeth McFarling of Coppell, Texas; Doretta Jean Smith of Boyce, Jared Rayshard Humbles of Baton Rouge, Tatiana Lorina of Boca Raton, Florida; Sabrina Granger Sharpe of St. Matthews, South Carolina; Haley Faircloth Campbell of Noble, NSU President Dr. Jim Henderson and Jimmy Long, a member of the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System.

Top graduates from Northwestern State University’s College of Nursing and School of Allied Health and the College of Business and Technology were recognized during afternoon commencement ceremonies Friday. The summa cum laude graduates maintained 4.0 grade point averages. From left are Daniel James of Natchitoches, commencement speaker and NSU alumna Nicole Vasquez, Louisiana’s 2016 High School Teacher of the Year; Ashton Averitt of Hornbeck and NSU President Dr. Jim Henderson.