Natchitoches Parish 4-H presents awards at banquet

4H 05-20-16



Natchitoches Parish 4-H recognized its outstanding 4-Hers and volunteers at its Awards Banquet May 20.

Anne Mertens received a $500 Ruth Johnson Memorial Scholarship. She will attend the Louisiana Tech University and major in English with a minor in business.

Leneigh Hennigan received the $300 H.C. Sanders Memorial Scholarship. She will attend Northwestern State University and major in nursing.

Amber Miley received the Louisiana 4-H Foundation Award. This award is given to a graduating senior in each parish who has excelled in his or her 4-H project work and demonstrated leadership, citizenship and community service.

Leneigh Hennigan, Josey Hemperly and Anne Mertens received the Scott Truck and Tractor Company 4-H Achievement Award. Hennigan received a $700 scholarship and Hemperly and Mertens received a $150 scholarship.

Ian Sarpy received a $250 Natchitoches Parish 4-H Scholarship. He will attend Central Louisiana Technical College and major in nursing.

The following students received 4-H Honor Cords:

Josey Hemperly: Lakeview High School

Leneigh Hennigan: Christian Scholars at Home

Anne Mertens: Christian Scholars at Home

Amber Miley: Provencal Christian Academy

Ian Sarpy: Natchitoches Central High School

Josey Hemperly and Kate Dickson received the Louisiana 4-H Foundation Key Club of Excellence Award.

Katie Anderson and William Morrison were recognized as junior 4-H members active in their 4-H club, excelled in their 4-H project work and completed 4-H record books. The award also focuses on general leadership and participation in 4-H activities, community drives and citizenship awards.

The following 4-H volunteer club leaders won awards for their dedication and service: Lisa Wiggins, NSU Elementary: Innovative Programming; Emily Morrison, Christian Scholars at Home: Outstanding Club Work; and Kim Hennigan, Christian Scholars at Home: Above and Beyond.

State 4-H Vice President Jill Wiltz and SET Board Kate Dickson represented Natchitoches Parish on leadership boards that give youth an opportunity to work together on a common focus while developing leadership for statewide programs. The youth serving on these boards provide valuable leadership and guidance to the positive direction of the 4-H Program.

Natchitoches was represented by 15 delegates at the 4-H University last June. Twelve of them competed, and eight named to the blue ribbon group. One was named a state winner. They included: Taylor Roberts, state winner in Fashion Casual Division; Jill Wiltz, Abigail gardner and Danielle Settle, Top 10 Team in Consumer Foods Judging. Other participants include Mikalynn Burns, Karmel Davenport, Kate Dickson, Corey Gallion, William Lacaze, Rachel Rachal and Jordan Rodriquez.

Katie Anderson was the state winner in 6th grade achievement at the State Record Competition.

Other awards included:

Emily Morrsion: Alumni Blue Ribbon and Blue Ribbon winner in the 4-H Alumni Division

Jesse Foshee and Amber Miley: Blue Ribbon Winners in the Louisiana Honey Bee Association.

Victoria Wiggins, Carleigh Lofton and Kennedy Barnum: Red Ribbon Winners in the Louisiana Honey Bee Association.

The following students placed in the Louisiana 4-H Area Culinary Arts Contest:

William Morrison: Ground beef appetizer and seafood fish

Joseph Yount: Ground beef main dish

Bradford Morrison: Beef other cuts and pecan appetizer salad

Sean Stewart: Egg appetizer/salad

Jordan Brady: Egg desert

Kaylee Stacy: Poultry Chicken

David Elliot: Pecan desert

Stasi Brady: Seafood shrimp

Caitlyn Taylor: Seafood crawfish

The following 4-H members were recognized for their participation in overnight camping events: Sawyer Anderson, Amara Morales, Zachary Birdwell, Kate Dickson, Kimberly Cain, Za’Niyah Grayson, Delaney Coutee, Karmel Davenport, Corey Gallion, Kelsey Lacaze, Williams Lacaze, Kinley Nugent, Cieria Shepherd, Amy Smith, Caiden Baines, Austyn Bazar, Donovan Calk,CholeCoutee, Roper Hays, Daylon Lucas, Jequaylon Lucas, Julian Oakes, Rachel Rachal, Rosa Randolph, MadisynTroquille, Katie Anderson, Kathryn Lee, Brandon Wablington and Harley Wablington.

Club officers of the Junior Leadership Club are President Leneigh Hennigan, Vice President Ian Sarpy Secretary Kate Dickerson, Treasurer Corey Gallion, Community Resource Development Chairman Jill Wiltz and Fundraising Chairman Madison Pleasant.

The Junior Leadership Club Service Award was awarded to Leneigh Hennigan. Junior Leadership Club advisors recognized at the banquet included Fredda Burns, Connie Gallion and Kim Hennigan.

4-H Club leaders include Emily Morrison, Rodney Meziere, Frances Sarpy, Shanita Grayson, Amy Stepp, Jennifer Robertson, Krista Schultz Lisa Wiggins, Teresa Miller, Cady White, Angela Jennings and SuSu Burk.

Randall Mallette presented the following 4-H members with awards for Horse Project and Shooting Sports: Tayler Anderson, Coleton Anderson, Jordan Brady, Staci Brady, Vincent Ferreyros, Bradford Morrison, William Morrison, Austin Thomas, Bill Lacaze, Porker Bernard, Tucker Henderson and John Waskom.

Natchitoches Standards of Excellence Awards were given to the following 4-H members: MadelynnMisuraca, Kaylee Ann Stacy, Victoria Wiggins, Coleton Anderson, Tayler Anderson, Stasi Brady, Brittany Gregory, Lindsay Gregory, Racheal Gregory, LeneighHennigan, Anne Mertens, Bradford Morrison, William Morrsion, Cooper Johnson, Cole Johnson, Tucker Henderson, Katie Anderson and Madison Pleasant.

Outstanding 40H Club Member Awards were given to the following: Leneigh Hennigan, Rylie Stiles, Zoie Britt, William Lacaze, Kiley Nugent, Josie Fontenot, London Wright, Daylon Lucas, Jequaylon Lucas, Brantley Gray, Hannah Roquemore, Luke Churchman, Alexia Saucier, Joseph Yount, Elizabeth Shirley, Amber Miley, Christopher Jennings, Abigail Ramian, TenleyGahagan, Kate Dickson and Anne Mertens