Northwestern State cheerleaders win three first place awards at competition

NSU cheerleaders
Northwestern State University’s cheerleading squad won three first place awards and two second place awards at the Universal Cheerleaders Association College Spirit Camp held at Texas State University – San Marcos.

NSU won first place in Fight Song Competition, Band Chant Competition and Overall Game Day Champs. The squad won second place in sideline competition and cheer competition. NSU also received the Game Plan Award, recognizing a team from each division that demonstrates they are the most prepared for the upcoming season. Northwestern State was fourth overall in mascot competition.

Members of Northwestern State’s award-winning cheerleading squad are, front from left, Annalise Austin of Winnfield, Jasmine Ealy of Little Elm, Texas, Avery Monrose of Lafayette, Lakyn Ward of Leesville, Sarah Gandy of Monroe, Bailey Hargrove of West Monroe, Courtney Bergeron of Houma, Lisa King of Shreveport and Stacy Fusell of Pineville, and back row left to right, Ontrez Shyne of Minden, Kody Patterson of Haughton, Kevaun McCall of Marrero, Eli Durr of Shreveport, Jacob David of Arnaudville, DeMarquise Edwards of Lake Charles, Austin Averitt of Bossier City, Joe Bradley of Shreveport, Trey Latino of Hammond, Justin Jenkins of Mansfield, Qualantre Jackson of Lafayette, Dan Nguyen of Haughton and Dontavius Chambers of Shreveport.