Lodge presents juniors with Honesty and Integrity Awards

Honesty and Integrity Awards
Nine high school juniors were presented with Honesty and Integrity Awards Monday evening, Aug. 29 at the Phoenix Lodge #38 F&AM in Natchitoches.

The Honesty and Integrity Awards Program was instituted in 1977 by the Grand Lodge of Louisiana to recognize deserving youth who possess the qualities to become leaders of tomorrow. Lodges annually select deserving juniors from high schools in their regions.

Students included:

Aaron Foster: Natchitoches Central High School, son of Eddie and Reinette Foster
Leah DeFord: NCHS, daughter of Matt and Julie DeFord
Brooklyn Hampton: NCHS, daughter of Todd and Christina Hampton
Makenzie Methvin: St. Mary’s Catholic School, daughter of Karlton and Lisa Methvin
Thomas Scruggs: St. Mary’s, son of Connie and Sammy Scruggs
Marcus Shallow: LSMSA, son of Minkeo and Benjamin Shallow
Jacob Stultz: LSMSA, son of Rusty and Anne Stultz
Russell Stultz: LSMSA, son of Rusty and Anne Stultz
Samantha Wright: LSMSA, daughter of Lee and Theresa Wright

Worshipful Master of the Lodge, Steve Horton, welcomed friends and family to the open night at the Lodge for the award ceremony.

“We recognize those who we think are living a life as they begin that Journey, still in the East of their youth, not quite to the South of adulthood, maturity and say, live well your life and live it with honesty and with integrity,” he said. “We found nine who are and we congratulate them.”

Brother Keith Gates presented the students with their awards. Keith was born in Natchitoches, raised in Goldonna, and is proud to call the area home. He is a 2000 graduate of Lakeview High School and attended Northwestern State University. After law school, Keith returned home to fulfill his dream and opened Gates Law Firm in Winnfield. He is a member of the Goldonna Lodge, Hope Lodge in Lafayette and O.K. Allen Lodge in Winnfield.

One thought on “Lodge presents juniors with Honesty and Integrity Awards

  1. It was an honor being at the Lodge last night to see these remarkable young men and women receive this Award.

Comments are closed.