HMT recognizes scholarship recipients


Northwestern State University students who were awarded scholarships from the American Hotel and Lodging Educational Foundation (AH&LEF) and Louisiana Restaurant Association Education Foundation (LRAEF) were recognized last week by faculty and administrators in the Hospitality Management and Tourism program. Students awarded scholarships are enrolled full-time in an undergraduate hospitality-related degree-granting program and maintain an over all grade point average of 3.0 or better.

AH&LEF student recipients are Ariel Adkins of Natchitoches, Brianna Ashley of Deville, Katarina Haymon of Leesville, Taylor Jennings of Metairie, Shelby Noustens of Destrehan and Rachel Taylor of Shreveport. Nominated by faculty, they will receive awards of $1,000-$1,500.

McKenna Opbroek of Keithville was named recipient of a scholarship awarded by the Louisiana Restaurant Association Education Foundation. She was the first recipient of the LRAEF ProStart scholarship, awarded to students that have become ProStart certified. ProStart is a two-year program for high school students to learn about culinary arts and management skills. This is her second year to receive the ProStart scholarship.

Terrian Marchand of Natchitoches earned a culinary arts scholarship from NSU, funded through the efforts of students who raise money through catering and organized holiday food fund raisers.

NSU’s HMT program is housed under the university’s School of Business in the College of Business and Technology and offers concentrations in culinary arts, hospitality services and travel and tourism. For information on programming, visit