Classic on the Cane Marching Contest to be held Nov. 5

The Spirit of Northwestern Marching Band will host the Classic on the Cane Marching Contest Saturday, Nov. 5 in Turpin Stadium. The contest begins at 9:30 a.m. and concludes with a performance by Spirit of Northwestern Marching Band at 6:30 p.m. Admission is $5 for entire day. The contest will be simulcast live on the website

Thirty-five bands from throughout Louisiana and Texas will be showcased. The bands will compete in five classes based on the grade level of the school and size of the band. An overall Grand Champion will be selected along with second through fifth place overall. Other awards include first, second and third place in each class, best percussion section in each class and best auxiliary units in each class.

Bands in Class IA are Grant and Franklin Parish. Class 1B schools are Buckeye, Rosepine, Pickering, Merryville, Many, Logansport, DeQuincy and Winnfield. Those in Class II are Ruston, Jennings, Iowa, Tioga, Pineville, Byrd and Sterlington.

Bands in Class III are Benton, E.D. White, Zachary, Kerens (Texas), South Beauregard, Erath, Mabank (Texas), Acadiana, West Ouachita, North Vermilion and Central. Class IV participants are Sam Houston, Airline, Haughton, Marshall (Texas), Deer Park (Texas), West Monroe and Parkway.