St. Mary’s Student Council attends LASC Convention

St. Mary’s students attended the Louisiana Association of Student Councils (LASC) 2017 Convention Jan. 14 at Archbishop Hannan High School in Covington. The theme was “LASC, Your Ticket to Lead.” Alongside other schools from the state, the delegates completed service projects, participated in fun leadership sessions, and SMS Student Council President Elizabeth Jackson acted as the school’s delegate in the voting process for the 2017 state officers. Voting also occurred on the district level where Sarah Gilmore, currently SMS Student Council Secretary was elected to LASC District VII Secretary.

St. Mary’s was awarded the following:
LASC Completion of Middle Level Recruitment
LASC Student Council Gold Honor Council Award
LASC Student Council Week Merit Award “For unselfish and dedicated service in promoting the ideals and goals of the Student Council program in school and community”
$1,000 Club Award for LASC 2016 State Charity Project: Cleft for a Cause.

St. Mary’s raised $1,500 from the White Out shirts during the football game against Loyola last fall. LASC collectively donated almost $73,600 to the charity.

Pictured are:  Jeremy Friedel, Lauren Vienne, Sponsor Paula Thompson, Elizabeth Jackson, Makenzie Methvin, Sarah Gilmore, Emily Maggio, Isabella Peluso, co-sponsor Jamie Gilmore, Madelyn Peluso and Jay Parker