NSU names student media leaders for 2017-18

KNWD-Student Media

Northwestern State University’s Student Media Board selected four students to serve as student media leaders for the 2017-18 academic year. Named were Alec Horton of Garland, Texas, editor in chief of The Current Sauce, NSU’s weekly student newspaper; Katie Rayburn of Natchitoches, editor in chief of Argus, the university’s annual literary magazine; Kierstin Richter of Shreveport, editor of Potpourri, the university yearbook, and Noah Baudoin of Shreveport, general manager of KNWD, NSU’s student radio station.

Horton is a junior majoring in music business. He has been visual editor at the Current Sauce for the past two years supervising photographers, designers and illustrators, editing stories and overseeing the design process of the newspaper. He has also been public relations manager, photo editor and lead photographer. In addition, he has worked as co-coordinator for the Spirit of Northwestern’s media team and is an experienced photographer/videographer. He has been a member of the Natchitoches-Northwestern Symphony Orchestra, the NSU Percussion Ensemble, the NSU Drum Line, the Spirit of Northwestern Marching Band and a vocalist in the FPC-Natchitoches choir.

Rayburn is a senior majoring in English with a minor in Spanish, history and global studies. She was junior editor and copy editor for Argus over the past two years and has served as ACDS Anthology editor and self-published a novel. She is president of NSU’s Spanish Club and Demon Dodgeball and is captain and treasurer for the Demon Quidditch team.

Richter is a sophomore majoring in psychology/addiction studies. She has been a staff writer for Potpourri for the past year and public relations manager this spring. She also served as an NSU Student Ambassador, is a member of Phi Mu Fraternity and has been involved with Focus Ministries and NSU’s Demon Days committee.

Baudoin is a sophomore majoring in biology. He has served as KNWD’s director of technology for the past year and is a member of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, the Student Activities Board, the JOVE/NASA Research Lab Scholarship program, the American Society of Microbiology and the NSU Demon Crew.