Lakeview recognizes Air Force JROTC Cadets at Awards Banquet

Cadet Leadership

Lakeview High School’s Air Force JROTC (AFJROTC) unit hosted 218 cadets and guests at their annual awards banquet and cadet change of command on April 20. Major Bob Kellogg, USAF (Ret), Lakeview’s Senior Aerospace Science Instructor, hosted the event to recognize unit and individual accomplishments and transfer the top cadet leadership position. This school year, Lakeview High School Cadet Corps consisted of 91 Cadets (30% of the school). Overall, the cadets performed over 2,600 hours of school/community service (28 hours per cadet) and 48% of the cadets were involved in at least two additional school activities. The cadet corps also posted an overall 3.29 grade point average (9% above the school average) and a discipline rate that is 95% above the school average. Senior cadet leadership also managed 10 Leadership Development Requirement Teams outside of their normal Aerospace Science and Leadership Education classes. Cadets participated in Drill Team, Color Guard, Saber Team, Marksmanship, Academic Team, Kitty Hawk Honor Society, POW/MIA Team, Physical Fitness Team, Recruiting Team, and a Green Team. Freshman cadets conducted an over-night curriculum in action trip to the USS KIDD WWII War Memorial/ Louisiana State Capitol in October 2017, and senior cadets are currently planning an end of year, 3-day field trip to the National Aviation Museum in Pensacola, Florida for May.

Honored attendees of this year’s banquet included Dale Skinner (Superintendent, Natchitoches Parish School Board), Eugean Garner (Natchitoches Parish School Board, District 7), Pastor Steven Harris, Natchitoches Parish School Board, District 8), William Hymes (Lakeview Jr./Sr. High School Principal), Jennifer Martin (Lakeview Jr./Sr. High School Assistant Principal), Sergeant Kevin Lewis (Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Deputy and Lakeview School Resource Officer), and Lona Frazier, Lakeview’s AFJROTC Supporter of the Year. This year, over 25 national awards/medals, and over 450 unit level awards and ribbons were presented to the cadets by sponsoring organizations.

CADET SALEM JOHNSON: Cadet Salem Johnson was promoted to Cadet Captain and assumed command of the Lakeview HS Air Force JROTC Cadet Corps. She is the daughter of Ruby Johnson, and a graduate of the 2017 Air Force JROTC Cadet Leadership Course. She is a member of the Drill Team, served as the Leader of the Cadet Recruiting Team, and is a former Flight Commander. She is the 2018 President of Lakeview’s FFA Chapter, is a member of their Floriculture Team that placed 1st in the 2018 State Competition, a member of the National Honor Society, and Beta Club. She is the recipient of the Air Force Sergeant’s Association national medal, 15 unit ribbons, and maintains a 4.0 GPA.

CADET LEADERSHIP:  Lakeview’s Air Force JROTC Cadet Leadership for the upcoming school year 2018-2019 from left to right are Cadet Captain Salem Johnson (Cadet Group Commander), Cadet 2Lt Ke’Aira Thomas (Cadet Group Deputy Commander), Cadet 2Lt Nicholas Wiggins (Cadet Operations Squadron Commander), Cadet 2Lt Joshua Graham (Cadet Operations Squadron Deputy Commander), Cadet 2Lt Zack Favela (Cadet Support Squadron Commander), and Cadet 2Lt Anna Smith (Cadet Support Squadron Deputy Commander).

CADETS OF THE YEAR: Lakeview HS Air Force JROTC Cadets of the Year Awards were presented to the following: Cadet Senior Airman James Earp, Cadet of the Year (Freshman); Cadet Captain Salem Johnson, Cadet of the Year (Sophomore); Cadet Ke’Aira Thomas, Cadet of the Year (Junior); and Cadet Major Mason Harper, Cadet of the Year (Senior).

CADET TROPHIES: Lakeview HS Air Force JROTC awarded trophies for academic and physical fitness performance to the following: Cadet Senior Airman Destinee Britt (Outstanding Physical Fitness, Jr. Female Category), Cadet Airman First Class Cameron Taylor (Outstanding Physical Fitness, Jr. Male Category), Cadet Airman First Class Alexia Adams (AFJROTC Academic Award, Jr. Category), Cadet Master Sergeant Hunter Thomas (AFJROTC Academic Award, Sr. Category), Cadet Senior Airman James Earp (Overall Academic Award, Jr. Category), Cadet Captain Tyler Sullivan (Outstanding Physical Fitness, Sr. Male Category), and Cadet Airman First Class Makayla Cook (Outstanding Physical Fitness, Sr. Female Category), and (not photographed) Cadet Technical Sergeant Karmen Jarriett (Overall Academic Award, Sr. Category).