LSMSA senior receives Presidential Scholarship from Fisk University

jessenia three


LSMSA– Jessenia Ortiz, a member of the Class of 2018 at the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts from Oberlin, was selected as a recipient of the Erastus Milo Cravath Presidential Scholarship, Fisk University’s most competitive scholarship award. Erastus Milo Cravath was the first president of Fisk University, and this award is named in his honor. Cravath scholars are among the best and brightest undergraduate students in the country. The scholarship is valued at the amount of full tuition, reoccurring fees, room-double occupancy, meals and books for eight consecutive semesters. To maintain the scholarship, Ortiz must earn a minimum of 12 to 18 credit hours per semester at Fisk University and achieve no less than a 3.50 cumulative grade point average. She will also be required to volunteer in the Office of Recruitment and Admission as a Presidential Ambassador at least 50 hours per semester, which is a total of 100 hours per academic year. On Saturday, April 21, Ortiz signed her scholarship acceptance contract.

Pictured are, front row, Luz Ortiz, Jessenia Ortiz and Jose Ortiz; and second row, Leah Lentz, co-director of the College Counseling Center; Luis Ortiz, brother; Dr. Jason Anderson, lecturer of biology; Moriah Bolen, Student Life Adviser; Dr. Steve Horton, executive director of LSMSA; Juliet Johnson, dean of the Office of Recruitment and Admission at Fisk University; Jennifer Mangum, lecturer of mathematics; Erin King, counselor and coordinator of student support; and Chris King, lecturer of visual arts.

One thought on “LSMSA senior receives Presidential Scholarship from Fisk University

Comments are closed.