Natchitoches Parish Students of the Year recognized by School Board

NPSB Student of the Year 2018.jpeg

The Natchitoches Parish School Board recognized the Student of the Year for 5th, 8th and 12th grade Tuesday evening, May 8. Alongside the winners, the board also recognized those who applied.

Before making a decision, each student submitted portfolios which included their grades, accomplishments, activities, community involvement and an essay. Students were then required to complete an interview with judges from the local community.

Gracie Moore, a fifth grader at NSU Elementary, Tinley Durr, an eighth grader at Marthaville and Joshua Fortenberry a senior at Natchitoches Central were selected as this year’s winners.

Other students who represented their schools in this year’s competition are: Nathanial Lester, Cloutierville: Grade 5; Jazlyn Alacon, East Natchitoches: Grade 5; Allen Saba, Fairview Alpah; Grade 5; Colie Killingsworth, Goldonna: Grade 5; Simone Robinson, L.P. Vaughn: Grade 5; Kaylee Jordan, Marthaville: Grade 5; Huntar Goings, Natchitoches Magnet: Grade 5; Addison Ivy, Provencal: Grade 5; Kaiylynn Long, Cloutierville: Grade 8; Cami Faircloth, Goldonna: Grade 8; Zoie Britt, Lakeview Jr. High: Grade 8; Kytiere Lazard, Natchitoches Jr. High: Grade 8; McKenzie Broadway, Natchitoches Magnet: Grade 8; Anna Coleman, NSU-Middle: Grade 8; Calvin Willis, Provencl; Grade 8; Cadie Coleman, Lakeview High: Grade 12.