Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame goes retro with 70s Disco Bowling Bash



The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Celebrations began in Natchitoches in 1972, and so appropriately, the 2018 festivities are going retro.

There’s still time to join in the first-ever LSHOF 70’s Disco Bowling Bash presented by BOM at Country Lanes in Natchitoches.

The event runs from 12-2:30 pm Friday, June 29 including a catered lunch, an open bar and a Seventies’ costume contest, along with DJ Geaux spinning classic hits from the decade. Teams of four will bowl and interact with the Hall of Famers.

The event is the second open to the public in the 2018 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Celebration that begins Thursday with the La Capitol Federal Credit Union Kickoff Reception, free of charge from 5-7 p.m. at the Hall of Fame museum at 800 Front Street in Natchitoches. That will follow the media-only Hall of Fame press conference carried live to 18 states at 3 p.m. on Cox Sports Television.

The schedule of events also features Friday evening’s big concert, the LSHOF Rockin’ River Fest on the Cane River Lake downtown stage at the Rue Beauport riverfront from 6-10:30. Grammy Award-winning Cajun musician Wayne Toups is the featured performer, beginning at 8:45 and pausing for introduction of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018 and fireworks at 9:30.

The Championship Saturday Saints and Pelicans Junior Training Camp, presented by the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office, is filled to the 200-youth capacity.

The main event, Saturday evening’s Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Ceremony presented by State Farm Insurance Agents of Louisiana, has a few tickets remaining. It begins at 5 p.m. with a 6 p.m. start for the dinner and ceremony, which will be carried live on Cox Sports Television.

Sunday’s LSHOF Golf Classic at OakWing Golf Club in Alexandria also has room for a few more players or teams before reaching a 36-team capacity.

For more on the entire induction weekend, visit the weekend events page at the official online home of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.