2018 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony



Eleven enshrinees officially joined the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame June 30.

The 11 members of the 2018 LSHOF Induction Class include football standouts Brandon Stokley and Reggie Wayne, coaching greats Lewis Cook and Jerry Simmons, Grambling and pro basketball star Larry Wright, 18-year MLB pitching veteran and LSU star Russ Springer, 1975 BassMasters Classic champion Jack Haines and the late Paul Candies, a member of the International Drag Racing Association Hall of Fame who also was a driving force for decades behind the Grand Isle Tarpon Rodeo.

Three contributors were inducted: Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award winner Steve Gleason, the former Saints player who has become one of the world’s leading advocates for ALS patients as he battles the disease; and Distinguished Service Award in Sport Journalism recipients Scooter Hobbs of the Lake Charles American Press and Lyn Rollins, the acclaimed Pineville broadcaster who has done extensive work for CST.