Natchitoches teacher receives Service Award at LDOE Gala

Lisa Wiggins

The winner of the 2018 H. Norman Saurage III Service Award is Lisa Lukowski Wiggins, of Northwestern Elementary Lab School in Natchitoches Parish.

The Louisiana Department of Education held its 12th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards Gala July 27. Spencer Kiper, of Elm Grove Middle School in Bossier Parish, was named the 2019 State Teacher of the Year, and Dr. Eric Davis, of Wossman High School in the City of Monroe School District, was named the 2019 State Principal of the Year.

“The Saurage family’s support for educators and students continues to bless our children across the country,” said Wiggins. “Receiving this award is a true honor and testament to our community. My heart is full and I accept this recognition with humility as I have the privilege of living out my dream each and every day. I would like to extend a special thank you out to the Saurage family and the Dream Teacher organization for working so hard to celebrate the work of our fine educators.”

Dream Teachers is a non profit that recognizes and rewards educators who model instructional excellence and dedication to serve the needs of children. The H. Norman Saurage III Service Award goes to a Louisiana public school teacher who has demonstrated not only outstanding instructional skills, but has made an exceptional personal contribution outside of the classroom to student enrichment, professional leadership, or community service. The award can recognize the achievement of a single outstanding event, or continuous dedicated service over a period of time.

3 thoughts on “Natchitoches teacher receives Service Award at LDOE Gala

  1. Congrats, Lisa! My milkweed is growing still and hopefully will aid the monarch butterflies on their yearly migration! Wonderful project!

  2. Congratulations Mrs. Wiggins! Truly an excellent choice for this award. Many many children have benefited from her efforts in their behalf. Our community is truly fortunate to have her in our school system.

Comments are closed.