Kiwanis holds annual banquet, installs 2018-2019 Officers

_Kiwnais Banquet 2018 (1)

The Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches held its annual Awards Banquet and Installation of 2018-2019 Officers Sept. 27.

A Walter Zeller Fellowship Award was presented to Kiwanian Ron Brown. This award recognizes a club member who donated $1,250 over the course of a year. The $1,250 donated saves around 900 lives in the world through he Eliminate Project.

This projects prevents neonatal tetanus by inoculating both mother and infant. Many countries stand today neonatal tetanus free because of the work Kiwanis has done over the years. It costs $1.85 to inoculate a mother and her child.

Jill Bankston received a certificate on behalf of NSU student Joshua Below for a scholarship he received through he NSU Foundation that was funded by the Kiwanis Club of Natchitoches.

Kiwanis Awards were presented to the following:
Firefighter of the Year- Ryan Palmer
Lawman of the Year for the City of Natchitoches- Sgt. Steve Rachal
Lawman of the Year for the Sheriff’s Office- Dep. Kim Green
Lawman of the Year for the State Police- Master Trooper Steve Pezant
Teacher of the Year- Alyson Erikson

Distinguished Club Awards included:
Presidents Award- Chili’s
Kiwanian of the Year- Craig Caskey
Volunteer of the Year- Heather Martin
Distinguished Service Award- Emily Settle
New Member of the Year- Danielle Antoon Cobb

Richard Rose introduced the new Lieutenant Governor for the Red River District:

Immediate Past President Dion Boyett. Boyett then installed the 2018-2019 Officers, which include:

Preisdent- Rodney Boswell
President Elect- Carey Etheredge
Vice President- Craig Caskey
Vice President- Danielle Antoon Cobb
Treasurer- Lee Waskom
Secretary- Richard Rose

2018-2019 Club Directors include:

Lauren Anderson- 1 year term
Annette Sterling Roque- 1 year term
Heather Martin- 1 year term
Jill Leo- 2 year term
Jared Kilaptrick- 2 year term
Emily Settle- 3 year term
Gina Banks- 3 year term