NHF celebrates preservation at Membership Gala

The Natchitoches Historic Foundation held its annual Membership Gala on May 14. The garden behind the NHF’s headquarters (the Cunningham Law Office) was decorated with clocks of every shape and size because, It’s Time to Join NHF!

“I’m thankful to live in a community of like minded people who understand the importance of remembering and preserving our past,” said outgoing resident Cathy Seymour. The NHF has partnered with the City, the Tourist Office, Main Street, the Natchitoches Historic District Development Commission (NHDDC), the Historic District Business Association (HDBA), the St. Augustine Historic Society, the American Cemetery Association, and the Cane River National Heritage Area.

“We look forward to continuing those relationships throughout the coming year and advancing the cause of preservation and increasing the economic impact tourism and preservation have on our community,” said Seymour.

An exciting announcement was made that the coffee table books the NHF compiled, titled “Christmas Along the Cane,” should be ready for sale by Sept. 1. This books features historic homes along the Cane River dressed up in their Christmas best.

Sheena Simmons was presented with the Robert Knipmeyer Award for Historic Preservation, which is awarded to a person who has made a significant contribution to historic preservation and interpretation including original research and documentation.

Jeff Gary received the Outstanding Board Member Award. Sue Breelove was given a special award for her years of work on the board.

Vicki Parrish was presented with the Bobby Deblieux Historic Preservationist Award, which is awarded to a person who, over time, has demonstrated exceptional leadership, perseverance, achievement and cooperation in support of historic preservation in Natchitoches Parish.

Seymour also recognized VP of Property Susan Barron, VP of Communication Hillary Bennett, VP of Projects Terri Cunningham, Treasurer Kathy Bundrick, and Secretary Kelly Lankford. Then Bennett surprised Seymour with a special gift of appreciation for her hard work as NHF president for the past three years.

Dan Seymour installed the following 2019-2020 Officers: Terri Cunningham, President; Susan Barron, VP of Property; Hillary Bennett, VP of Communication; Jacque Horton, VP of Projects; Kathy Bundrick, Treasurer; and Kelly Lankford, Secretary.