NSU recognizes top grads at commencement, which featured NSU alumna Denise Lewis Patrick as guest speaker

Acclaimed writer, editor and teacher Denise Lewis Patrick, was guest speaker during Dec. 20 commencement exercises at Northwestern State University. Patrick is a Natchitoches native who earned a degree in journalism at NSU in 1977 and a master’s in creative writing from the University of New Orleans. A long-time resident of the New York City area, she is a freelance writer, editor, instructor and literary consultant who has authored works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry for all age levels. Patrick delivered a message of hope and encouragement to NSU’s Fall 2019 graduates, urging them to be mindful of their moral and ethical footprints and to go out into the world with open minds and hearts.

Top Graduates – morning ceremony:

Northwestern State University recognized top graduates from the Gallaspy Family College of Education and Human Development, the Louisiana Scholars’ College and the College of Arts and Sciences prior to morning commencement exercises in Prather Coliseum. On the front row from left are NSU alumna and commencement speaker Denise Lewis Patrick with Samantha Morris of Longview, Texas; Allison DeGlandon of Effie, Caroline Matthews of Florien, Jayden Wheeler of Forney, Texas; Erin Brown of Shreveport; Alli Douet of St. Martinville and Janee Charles of Jennings. On the back row are Travis Carrell of Huntington, Texas; Madelyn Cheatwood of Natchitoches, Carter Coriell of Leesville, Jessi Dominique of Covington, Shayla James of Princeton, Texas, Jourdan Waddell of Slidell, Aubry Dennis of Natchitoches and NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio.

Top Graduates – afternoon:

Northwestern State University recognized the top graduates from after commencement exercises that included those earning degrees in general studies and engineering technology from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business and Technology and the College of Nursing and School of Allied Health. From left are State Senator-elect Louie Bernard, NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio, Simona Curry of Calvin, Mary Myers of Pelican, Emily Arnaud of Bunkie, Comis Waddell of Benton, Brittany Furrow of Frierson, Wesley Simien of Jennings and commencement speaker Denise Lewis Patrick.