Lakeview Band Members Honored at Virtual Awards Ceremony

At Lakeview Jr.-Sr. High the end of the second semester is usually a busy time for the Gator Band, with LMEA District II Large Ensemble Festival and Solo and Ensemble Festival, the spring concert, and the annual band awards ceremony. All of these events had to be cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Lakeview has a history of earning superior ratings at the LMEA festivals since the current seniors were in seventh grade, and Ms. Denise Roper, who has been their band director since 2013, was disappointed that her students could not participate in these events this year. She decided to honor her students for all of their hard work by hosting a virtual awards ceremony on the Internet. Award certificates presented on April 17 could be downloaded and printed by each student’s parent or guardian. Band members who served as 2019-2020 officers and who participated in the 2019 Louisiana Bandmasters Association All-Star Bands and LMEA District II Honor Bands were recognized, as were the most outstanding and most improved band members in each grade level.

The seventh grade band awards were as follows: Most Outstanding: Ryan Hubbard, Sydney Thompson; Most Improved: Kendall Bush, Jace Martin, Carl Myart; Outstanding Attitude Award: Alexia Moore.

The eighth grade band awards were presented to: Most Outstanding: Jordon Kirts; Most Improved: Sophia Kerry, Braylee Layfield-Bruce, Jonovan Reliford; Officers: Adrian Davis, Saxophone Section Leader; Braylee Layfield-Bruce, Mallet Percussion Co-Captain; Jordon Kirts and Jonovan Reliford, Drumline Co-Captains.

The freshmen who were recognized were: Most Outstanding: Stephan Prudhomme and Harli Thomas; Most Improved: Grace Dalme; Most Outstanding Beginner: Grace Dalme; Officers: Harli Thomas, Flute Section Leader; Stephan Prudhomme, Trombone Section Leader.

There were no sophomores in band the second semester.

The junior band award winners were: Most Outstanding: Emma McDonald and James Earp; Most Improved: Carissa Noel; Officers: Emma McDonald, Drum Major and Clarinet Section Leader; James Earp, Quartermaster and Trumpet Section Leader; Jo Porter, Trumpet Section Leader; Amber Hembree, Mallet Percussion Captain and Music Librarian.

The senior band awards were presented to: Most Outstanding: Myla Porter and Mathew Johnson; Most Improved: Shaneta Williams; Officers: Myla Porter, Band Captain and Low Brass Section Leader; Shaneta Williams, Band Co-Captain and Music Librarian; Mathew Johnson, Drumline Captain.

Current band members who participated in the 2019 LBA All-Star BLAST Honor Band were acknowledged. These students are Mathew Johnson on snare drum, Jo Porter on trumpet, and Myla Porter on baritone horn. Myla Porter was also recognized for earning the first chair in the baritone section of the top LMEA District II Senior High Honor Band and qualifying for the second round of All-State Honor Band auditions. She is the second student in the history of the school to qualify for this honor.

The 2020 LBA All-Star Bands have been cancelled due to the pandemic, however the students who qualified for participation will be receiving a certificate from the Lousiana Bandmasters Association at some time in the near future. These students are Ryan Hubbard, All-Star Middle School Band; Stephan Prudhomme and Carissa Noel, Senior High All-Star BLAST Honor Band; and Jo Porter, Senior High All-Star Jazz Band.

The most prestigious of all band awards presented this year was the John Philip Sousa Award, a nationally recognized honor that is given to the most outstanding overall band member, usually a graduating senior. The 2019-2020 Lakeview recipient was Myla Porter, a student whose outstanding musicianship, positive attitude, and dedication have been apparent throughout her six years of membership in the Lakeview Gator Band.

Any parent or guardian of a Lakeview band member who missed the Gator Band Virtual Awards Ceremony is encouraged to get in touch with Ms. Roper at

Most Outstanding Seventh Grade Band Member Ryan Hubbard said, “I am proud to be a member of the Lakeview Jr.-Sr. High Band. I love music and will continue to do my best in band. I love Ms. Roper!”

Seventh grader Alexia Moore enjoys being in band class, and said “Thank you” to Ms. Roper and her fellow band students “for a fun and educational year.”

Drumline Captain Mathew Johnson put on his Gator Band pep band uniform to pose with his Most Outstanding Senior Award. Mathew was on the drumline of the 2018 and 2019 LBA BLAST Honor Bands.

Band Captain and Low Brass Section Leader Myla Porter was the recipient of Lakeview’s John Philip Sousa Award and Most Outstanding Senior Award. She has been a member of the District Honor Band four times and the LBA All-Star Honor Bands three times. She has also earned superior ratings at solo and ensemble festival every year that the band has participated in the event.