LSMSA Honors Class of 2020 at Virtual Recognition Ceremony

The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA) recognizing outstanding graduates’ accomplishments from the class of 2020 with a virtual ceremony in July.

The highest honor an LSMSA graduating senior can receive is to be recognized as the recipient of one of the following awards:

Caroline Dormon Scholar Award — Anna Sloan of Denham Springs, La.

Marie Louise Snellings Award for Outstanding Arts — Sydney Sorbet of Conway, Ark.

Marvin Lockhart Work Service Awards — Heather Collier of Denham Springs, La., Derek Dupre of Houma, La., Oliver Bennett of Rockwall, Texas, Chirstan Bates of Ruston, La.

Sharon Sturdivant Williams Praecellemus Award — Kyle McCleary of Baton Rouge, La.

Spirit of Louisiana School Award — Bailey Saucier of Mandeville, La. and Siobahn Stanley of Stonewall, La.

First Year Senior Award — Faith Nugent of Dry Prong, La.

Executive Director’s Above. Beyond. Award for demonstrating resilience in the face of adversity — the the entire class of 2020

Robert A. Alost Hall of Fame Award — Emery Haynes of Prairieville, La., Trace Hilbun of Wisner, La., Beatrice Hoang of Cupertino, Ca., Anna Sloan of Denham Springs, La., and Dylan White of St. Martinville, La.

Awards for excellence were administered across disciplines, recognizing one student as each department’s Gonfalonier — Italian for “standard-bearer” or someone who goes above and beyond:

Creative and Performing Arts — 27 awards; Gonfalonier: Beatrice Hoang of Cupertino, Ca.

Humanities — 28 awards; Gonfalonier: Oliver Bennett of Rockwall, Texas

Languages — 20 awards; Gonfalonier: Emery Haynes of Prairieville, La.; honorary Gonfalonier: Andrew Luse of Monroe, La.

Math — 10 awards; Computer Science — 4 awards; Gonfalonier for Math and Computer Science: Nicholas Adams of Zachary, La.

Science — 17 awards; Gonfalonier: Sara Mixon of Lake Charles, La.

Sports Education — 14 awards

Residential Life — 2 awards

In addition, five students were honored with the coveted Graduation with Distinction award for completing independent academic studies or artistic endeavors beyond their formal course requirements; thirteen students graduated with an Associate’s degree by participating in dual enrollment classes through LSMSA’s partnership with Northwestern State University; and seniors who attended LSMSA from sophomore to senior year received golden acorn pins to wear on their graduation gowns as a symbol of their connection to the 2010 graduates who were the first sophomores allowed at LSMSA.

To view LSMSA’s 2020 Virtual Recognition Ceremony or for more information about the school, please visit

Pictured: Mr. David Andersen, Mathematics and Computer Science Department Chair, announces Excellence in Mathematics awards. Students pictured (L-R) are Beatrice Hoang, Cupertino, Ca.; Emery Haynes, Prairieville, La.; Sara Mixon, Lake Charles, La.; and Jason Min, West Monroe, La.