St. Mary’s Catholic School students receive Heisman Scholarships

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is annually awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the nation. The Heisman High School Scholarship presented by Acceptance Insurance extends the Heisman prestige to our nation’s most esteemed high school seniors by recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholar-athletes who understand that the most important victories not only happen on the field, but in their schools and communities. These remarkable young leaders set the example and make a game-changing difference every day, paving the way to greatness for everyone around them.

To apply, students must be graduating with the class of 2021, have a cumulative weighted high school grade point average of a B (3.0) or better, participate in at least one of the 48 sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee and/or the National Federation of State High School Association and be a leader in his/her school and community.

The National Award Program Releases the Names of 2020 School Winners from an applicant pool of thousands of high school scholar-athletes graduating with the class of 2021, 100 students have been named State Winners in the Heisman High School Scholarship competition awarded by The Heisman Trophy Trust and Acceptance Insurance. St. Mary’s is proud to announce that Jensen Parker has been selected as the Female Heisman High School Winner for the State of Louisiana. She will now represent Louisiana in the National Finalist competition, in which finalists will be announced on November 9th.

More than 3,600 student athletes have been named School Winners in the Heisman High School Scholarship competition. Parker and fellow St. Mary’s senior, Andrew Godfrey, were two of the thousands of applicants chosen as a high school winner.

In their first year as presenting sponsor, Acceptance Insurance pledged an additional $25,000 scholarship donation to the program. State Winners will receive a $750 college scholarship and continue on for the chance to become National Finalists or National Winners. National Finalists receive a $1,250 college scholarship and the male and female National Winners will each receive a $5,250 college scholarship.