Five Lady Demons named to All-Southland team

By Bud Denega, Sports Information Graduate Assistant

NATCHITOCHES — The Southland Conference released its All-Conference teams Thursday. A total of five Lady Demons — three on the first team and two on the second team — were honored.

Junior second baseman, Cayla Jones, senior outfielder, Elise Vincent, and junior utility player, E.C. Delafield, were named first-team All-Southland. Sophomore catcher, Alexis Perry and senior outfielder, Hayley Barbazon, were selected as second-team All-Southland honorees.

Jones — in a shortened 2020 season due to COVID-19 — batted .217 with a pair of home runs and 12 RBIs. She’s a career .329 hitter with 21 homers, 20 doubles, two triples and 83 RBIs. Jones also lays claim to a career .978 fielding percentage.

Vincent batted .323 in 2020 with 10 RBIs, while having a .962 fielding percentage. She’s a career .273 hitter with a pair of triples and 26 runs batted in. Vincent also possesses a .972 career fielding percentage.

Delafield hit .227 last year with three home runs and 20 RBIs. For her career, she’s hit .250 with seven homers, 12 doubles, five triples and plated 42 runs.

Delafield also does quite a bit of damage in the circle. She went 2-1 with a 4.29 ERA a season ago with 14 strikeouts. In her three years, she owns a 16-9 record with a 3.42 ERA and 103 strikeouts.

Perry batted .281 in 2020 with one home run, four doubles and 12 RBIs. For her career, she owns a .286 batting average with seven home runs, 12 doubles and 42 RBIs. Behind the plate, she had a .992 fielding percentage last year, which is also her career fielding percentage.

Barbazon batted .375 in 2020, logging two home runs and knocking in 17 runs. She’s a career .263 hitter with five homers, 15 doubles, 10 triples and 63 RBIs. She also boasts a career fielding percentage of .980.

Northwestern State begins its season next week, playing host to the Natchitoches Historic District Development Commission Lady Demon Classic. NSU opens tournament play Friday against UT-Martin at 1:30 p.m.

First Team
Name School – Position – Class – Hometown

Kaylyn Shepard Central Arkansas 1B R-Sr. Mechanicsville, Virginia
Cayla Jones Northwestern State 2B Jr. Missouri City, Texas
Cylla Hill Central Arkansas 3B R-Sr. Henryetta, Oklahoma
Cori McCary McNeese SS Sr. McCarley, Texas
Ella Manzer Southeastern Louisiana C Sr. Alexandria, Louisiana
Samantha Bradley Abiliene Christian DP R-Sr. Azle, Texas
Megan McDonald Sam Houston OF Sr. Georgetown, Texas
Madisen Blackford Southeastern Louisana OF Sr. Des Moines, Iowa
Kaylee Lopez McNeese OF So. Indian Bayou, Louisiana
Elise Vincent Northwestern State OF Sr. Maurice, Louisiana
Linsey Tomlinson Abiliene Christian OF R-Sr. Huffman, Texas
Kassidy Wilbur Stephen F. Austin P Jr. Bridge City, Texas.
Kayla Beaver Central Arkansas P R-Fr. Jackson, Tennessee
E.C. Delafield Northwestern State UT Jr. Stonewall, Louisiana

Second Team
Name School – Position – Class – Hometown
Shaylon Govan Stephen F. Austin 1B So. Katy, Texas
Bryana Novegil Stephen F. Austin 2B Sr. Houston, Texas
Brooke Malia Sam Houston 2B Sr. Houston, Texas
Caitlin Garcia Nicholls 3B Jr. Spring, Texas
Alex Hedspeth Stephen F. Austin SS Jr. Lockhart, Texas
Alexis Perry Northwestern State C So. Wylie, Texas
Bailey Richards Stephen F. Austin C Gr. Des Moines, Iowa
Caitlyn Brockway Houston Baptist DP So. Tomball, Texas
Reagan Sperling Central Arkansas OF R-Jr. Sherwood, Arkansas
Alayis Seneca McNeese OF So. The Woodlands, Texas
Hayley Barbazon Northwestern State OF Sr. Belle Chasse, Louisiana
Saleen Flores McNeese P So. Beeville, Texas
MC Comeaux Southeastern Louisiana P Fr. Port Allen, Louisiana
Sammi Thomas Texas A&M-Corpus Christi UT So. Buford, Georgia

Photo Credit: Chris Reich / NSU Photographic Services