Eta Mu Chapter of the Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society announces Student Scholarship Awardee

The Eta Mu Chapter of the Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society is pleased to announce the Student Scholarship has been awarded to Ms. Katelynn Benge.

Ms. Benge is an NSU senior psychology major minoring in Spanish. Last spring, she was fortunate to study abroad in Alicante, Spain. According to Katelyn, “If you are presented with the opportunity to study abroad, I highly encourage you to take advantage of it. As a student at NSU, this experience is easily accessible and affordable, and I feel that more people should consider it. I am very thankful for the chance to broaden my horizon, step out of my comfort zone, and make connections with people from all over the world…I now have an understanding of what it means to be a global citizen and a better appreciation for the world outside of Natchitoches.”

After graduation in May, Katelyn plans to eventually get her doctorate in Developmental Psychology and conduct research with school-aged children in Latin America. She believes her time spent in Spanish speaking countries will greatly aid in her research efforts. Upon learning that she was awarded the scholarship, Ms. Benge thanked the Eta Mu Chapter of Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars for its support and pledged to continue her international education.

Phi Beta Delta is the first honor society in the United States to recognize scholarship achievement in international education. The Northwestern State University Chapter received its charter in 2010 and honors students, faculty, and staff who engage in international research and travel. Dr. Sharon Joy, Chapter Coordinator and National President-Elect writes, “ This is a wonderful opportunity to highlight the international efforts of our university community. We are honored to recognize Ms. Benge with this award.”

If you would like more information about joining the NSU Eta Mu Chapter or more information on the Eta Mu Student Scholarship Award, please contact Dr. Sharon Joy, Eta Mu Chapter President ( or Dr. Marcia Hardy, Eta Mu Chapter Scholarship Program Chair (

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE