LSMSA holds Matriculation Ceremonies

NATCHITOCHES, LA- The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA) held two matriculation ceremonies for the 99 new students in the Blue and Gold Cohorts while they were on campus for the 2021 spring semester.

After monitoring the successes at some of LSMSA’s sister institutions across the country as well as universities and boarding schools across the region, the decision was made to bring students back to campus for the Spring semester–under very controlled conditions. The cohort design allowed for social distancing, smaller class sizes, and restricted group gatherings.

“It’s been a terribly difficult time for our students, but we felt we owed it to them to pursue a return to campus,” said Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton.

At the Matriculation Ceremonies, held on Feb. 11 and March 23, Associate Lecturer of History Dr. Kyle Stephens delivered the Keynote Address. “You are no longer Louisiana School novices,” he said. “You are already veterans who have been tested in virtual classrooms that in many ways have been more challenging than the real thing. By being in this room you demonstrate your commitment, your boldness, and your bravery. The future belongs to you and the future is bright indeed.”

Director of Academic Services Dr. Kristi Pope Key and Director of Enrollment and Student Services Emily Shumate offered words of wisdom to the students as they walked up onto the stage to receive their certificates. SGO President Paige Delsa, SGO Vice President Kait Berry, Junior Class President Issac Lecompte, and Senior Class President Madeline Lorio oversaw the signing of the matriculation roster by each student.

The matriculants were invited onstage individually and officially welcomed as LSMSA students. Dr. Horton gave them each a certificate and an elbow bump in place of the usual handshake. The event was live-streamed so friends and family members could watch from home.

“You’ve been Eagles for seven months and you’ve only been in the nest for four weeks,” said Dr. Horton as he addressed the new students. “It seems like you got here yesterday and the time has flown by. Some of you are part of the first group to come back to the nest after we closed the campus during the pandemic. We’re doing things a little bit differently and we’re all here to celebrate with you.”

The certificate students received for their matriculation will soon be replaced by the prestigious LSMSA diploma when they graduate.

“They’re bookends to your experience here,” said Dr. Horton. Between now and then you’ll fill reams of important paperwork. Remember to equate love and work. Your actions are always the measure of your love for the Louisiana School…Flex your talents and abilities…Sense what it can mean for you to soar with the Eagles!”

Class of 2021:

Sy’rai Adams – Slidell
John Littleton, West Monroe
Andrew Palermo, Houma
Jamie Simpson – Lake Charles

Class of 2022:

Julius Adams, Columbia
Ashton Andrepont – Arnaudville
Allie Benoit, Sulphur
Lee Braud – Saint Martinville
Sylver Chaisson, Gray
Max Collette – Lake Charles
Hailey Dangerfield, Slidell
Haley Flynn, Pineville
Liliana Geier, Mandeville
Nicholas Guagliardo – Ponchatoula
Jordan Hoffman – Lake Charles
Abby Huddleston, Lake Charles
Seth Huertas, Houma
Jillian McDougal – Baton Rouge
Michael Meaney – DeRidder
Tristan Nilsson, Slidell
Lianzei Perez, Monroe
Adrianna Rhodes – Benton
Lily St. Amant – Ruston
Brandon Turner – Sulphur
Allison Viator, Maurice
Cami Wainwright, Pine Grove
Yara Younces, Alexandria
Zeina Younes, Alexandria

Class of 2023:

Ren Ackoury – Baton Rouge
L.J. Aguillard – Ball
Juliana Allemand, Thibodaux
Alexis Andersen – Pineville
Ravi Baker
Nick Bennett, Slidell
Olivia Bergen – Lake Charles
Aidan Borne – Prairieville
Will Brown, Industry, TX
Aaron Burton
Annemarie Campbell – Patterson
Emma Cecchini, Denham Springs
Hunter Chaisson, Houma
Aroma Chanda, Hammond
Rachael Christensen, Natchitoches
Emma Circello, Livonia
Natalie Conravey – Destrehan
Carter Copsey – Tickfaw
River Costello, Baker
Ethan Cruz, Benton
Manasi Desai – Monroe
Adam Deslatte, Hammond
Joy Dong, Calcasieu Parish
Samantha Dugan – Mandeville
Jolie England – Alexandria
Madeline Falgout – Ponchatoula
Aidan Feess, Locust Grove, GA
Beau Fontenot – Ville Platte
Elizabeth Garner, Batchelor
Marshall Gawel, Bossier City
Josh Gillett, Lake Charles
Ashley Green, Houma
Lacey Guagliardo, Morgan City
Grace Guidry – Covington
Kaitlyn Hoang – Houma
Alyse Huguet, Greenwell Springs
Arianna Jackson – Mandeville
Leighanna Kain – Bossier City
Paulina Lamont – Benton
Danielle Lamy, Covington
Ari Lee – Bush
Isabella Leslie, Lake Charles
Kate Long, Alexandria
Nena Lyons – Lake Charles
Meredith Methvin, Natchitoches
Kate Montgomery, Benton
Emma Moss, Lake Charles
Jordan Murray – Pineville
Lyrrice Mwaghore, Luling
Kylie Nguyen, Prairieville
Reese Nordan – Lake Charles
Talyn Novak, Alexandria
Sam Owen, Ruston
Jeanne Patterson, Opelousas
Jaime Perdue, Kingwood, TX
Cece Perry, Alexandria
Kate Peterson – Ruston
Anh Pham, Ruston
Uyen Nhi Pham – Lafayette
Cara Plaisance, Lockort
Joy Qiu – Houma
Elise Ramcourt – lake Charles
Sara Rodrigue – Thibodaux
Evan Shelton, Leesville
Rosie Shultz – Ruston
Justice Sittner, Monroe
Noah Speights – Lake Charles
Karli Swanzy, Ville Platte
Maddie Williams, Paulina
Cole Williamson – Lafayette
Kelsey Young, Sunshine

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE