Sorority welcomes new members

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, Mu Omega Zeta Chapter is pleased to announce, acknowledge and welcome our newest members. Eight ladies each with different backgrounds and mostly from different cities embarked on a journey together into the greatest sorority on earth. They were inducted on May 2. These Dove-ly ladies will continue their amazing flight into the sorority bringing with them all of the attributes and abilities to adhere to the sorority founding principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood. Welcome to the Sisterhood Carletta Jones, Lillie McDonald, Ethel Moss, Gevonica Smith, Eda Swafford, Roshawnda Taylor, Angel Washington and Denice Washington.

Five women from Howard University envisioned a sorority that would raise the consciousness of their people, encourage the highest standards of scholastic achievement, and foster a greater sense of unity among its members. These women believed that sorority elitism and socializing overshadowed the real mission for progressive organizations. Zeta Phi Beta was founded on January 20, 1920 on the campus of Howard University in Washingotn, D.C. Since its founding Zeta Phi Beta has historically focused on addressing social causes. Zeta Phi Beta is a non-profit 501(c)(7) organization that is divided into eight intercontinental regions and 800+ Chapters located in the US, Africa, Europe, Asia and the Caribbean. In 1948, Zeta Phi Beta became the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa (in Monrovia, Liberia). Zeta Phi Beta Sorority and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity are the only constitutionally bound sorority and fraternity in the National Pan-Hellenic Council.

Mu Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered on December 31, 1984. The official charter ceremony was held on April 20, 1985 in Natchitoches, La. Distinguished guests were Sorors Delores Pennington (Regional Director) and Sorors Julia Simon and Brenda K. Green (Louisiana State Directors). Soror Julia Simon was instrumental in the establishment of this chapter. The charter members were Mary S. Bacchus Montgomery, Eunice S. Foster, Sepora P. Fisher, JoAnn Brown, Anne Derry, Triumphant Sorors Roxie B. Braxton and Lanetia S. Johnson and Dorothy M. McGaskey. Associate members who joined at the chapter’s first official meeting were Linda W. Howard, Helen Jones and Triumphant Soror Evelyn Moses. Soror Dorothy McGaskey was elected as the first president of the chapter.

Kudos to our MIP Coordinator, Josephine Winder and the Membership Intake Committee for all of your hard work in completing and seeing this process through. Special shout out to the instructors Yalaunda Toliver-Taylor, Chapter President, Candance Grayson, Linda W. Howard, Sandy Irchirl , Monica Pickett-Moguel , Belinda Turner-Pickstock, Lockey Whitaker and Sandra Williams.

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE