Northwestern State’s Dancetovic honorably mentioned on All-Louisiana Tennis Team

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State senior Emilija Dancetovic completed the trifecta of honors Wednesday when she was honorably mentioned as part of the All-Louisiana tennis team, the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced Wednesday.

It’s the first All-Louisiana honor of her career.

Dancetovic already earned All-Southland Conference and Southland Conference All-Academic honors for her efforts in her final season.

The Serbian native had a breakout season, finishing 11-6 in singles dual play with a 6-2 mark against SLC competition.

Ten of her singles matches (7-3) came in the No. 5 slot.

Dancetovic drastically improved her singles results in her final campaign, but she continued her excellence in doubles play with a 9-2 mark.

She finishes her career with 47 career doubles wins, 14th all-time in NSU history.

2020-21 LSWA All-Louisiana Tennis Team

First Team
Paris Corley, LSU
Lina Hohnhold, New Orleans
Angela Charles-Alfred, Xavier
Ank Vullings, New Orleans
Taylor Bridges, LSU
Madalina Grigoriu, ULM

Second Team
Safiya Carrington, LSU
Putri Insani, Southeastern Louisiana
Floriane Picaut, UL Lafayette
Alexia Romero, Louisiana Tech
Lailaa Bashir, Xavier
Kyra Akinnibi, Xavier

Honorable Mention: Farah Baklouti, Xavier; Nina Geissler, LSU; Emilija Dancetovic, Northwestern State; Samantha Bucykx, LSU; Salma Abdelrahim, New Orleans; Lea Alguacil, New Orleans; Ilana Tetruashvili, Louisiana Tech; Lucy Carpenter, Loyola

Player of the Year: Paris Corley, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Lina Hohnhold, New Orleans
Freshman of the Year: Valentina Largacha, Xavier
Co-Coaches of the Year: Alan Green, Xavier; Burzis Kanga, New Orleans