Three Northwestern State players picked to Southland Conference All-Academic Team

Three Northwestern State softball players proved they were among the best on the field and in the classroom as the Southland Conference released its All-Academic Teams on Tuesday.

Utility player E.C. Delafield was voted to the first team while Kaitlyn St. Clair and Keely DuBois picked up second-team honors.

The three selections is NSU’s highest since four Lady Demons graced the teams in 2017.

Delafield excelled in the circle and at the plate.

The First Team All-Southland Conference selection hit .331 with 31 runs scored and 22 RBIs from the leadoff spot.

The NFCA All-Region Third Team pick posted a 12-5 pitching record with a 2.14 ERA with three shutouts.

Delafield and DuBois are making their first All-Academic appearances while St. Clair is a three-time selection.

St. Clair, one of only hit .300, tying for a team-high four home runs with six doubles.

DuBois solidified her spot in the NSU starting lineup in her second season with a .323 batting average and 23 RBIs, which ranked second and third on the team, respectively.

Central Arkansas’ Jenna Wildeman was named SLC Student Athlete of the Year.

2021 Southland Conference Softball All-Academic Teams

Name Institution Class Hometown GPA Major
E. C. Delafield NSU Sr. Stonewall, LA 3.38 Health & Exercise
Keely DuBois NSU So. Robeline, LA 3.78 Human Health
Kaitlyn St. Clair NSU Sr. Cypress, TX 3.66 Psychology