The 113th Louisiana Society Daughters of the American Revolution (LSDAR) annual convention was held March 17-20 at the historic Hotel Bentley in Alexandria with LSDAR State Regent Charlotte Hodge White presiding.

More than 200 LSDAR members from across the state were in attendance. In addition, honored guests included Denise Doring Van Buren, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) President General, Janet Whittington NSDAR Curator General, Kay Yarbrough Vice President General, Morgan Elliot Arizona State Regent, Debbie Coe Illinois State Regent, Marla Suter Iowa State Regent, Helen Polk Mississippi State Regent, Joann Magee Missouri State Regent, Kathryn Asay Utah State Regent, Yvonne Liser Membership National Chair and NSDAR Museum Curator Angela Eichenbrenner.

The conference began Friday morning with a Memorial Service to commemorate the past year’s deceased members. Friday’s keynote address was given by Denise Doring Van Buren. Other highlights on Friday included the presentation of the LSDAR Outstanding Teacher of American History Award to Shelby Thompson and the Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Award went to John B. Wells. The Blanche Marxsen LSDAR Leadership Scholarship was awarded to Haley Victoria Flynn. On Saturday, annual reports were given by State Officer’s, District Director’s, Chapter Regents and State Committee Chairs. The Saturday evening business session concluded with the presentation of the newly elected 2022 – 2025 LSDAR Executive Officer’s: Cheryl Gott Office of State Regent, Toni Turk Office of First Vice Regent, Louise Ganucheau Office of Second Vice Regent, Brenda Lowry Office of State Chaplain, Melissa Wiygul Office of State Recording Secretary, Margo Rhinehart Office of State Corresponding Secretary, Helen Newman Office of State Organizing Secretary, Myra Tener Office of State Treasurer, Regina Wood Office of State Registrar, Charlotte Nagy Office of State Historian, Janis Lowe Office of State Librarian and Bobbi Foster Office of State Curator. On Saturday evening, the Daughters enjoyed a presentation, “Louisiana’s Islenos: The Legacy of Bernardo de Galvez”, given by Robert Freeland. The Daughters enjoyed a farewell breakfast Sunday before departing home. Any woman 18 years or older interested in learning about your lineage and joining the DAR should contact Peggy Aycock Chapter Regent @

Pictured: Peggy Aycock, Carolyn Dunn Miller, Minnie Metoyer, Martha Conde, Nicol Delphin & Jamie Chilson. Angela Eichenbrenner- Fauquier Chapter, Virginia and Paula Eichenbrenner- Elenor Wilson Chapter, D.C.