School Board recognizes students of the year, attends to other business

The Natchitoches Parish School Board recognized Student of the Year winners and nominees for the 2021-2022 school year at its board meeting on May 10. SOY organizer Anita Dubois and Superintendent Dr. Grant Eloi congratulated each student as they presented them with a framed certificate for their academic success. Winners also received a small plaque for their achievement.

Winners are Peyton Helaire (5th grade-Natchitoches Magnet), Bryan Chen (8th grade-Natchitoches Magnet), and Anna Catherine Coleman (12th grade-Natchitoches Central High School).

Nominees for 5th grade included:
Genesis Conday- East Natchitoches
Connor Franks- Fairview Alpha
Grace Day- Goldonna
Kyleigh Greer- Marthaville
Caleb Bynog- NSU E-Lab
Eli Walker- Provencal

Nominees for 8th grade included:
Matthew Cherry- Goldonna
Traylyn Lofton- Lakeview Jr. High
Blaine Mitchell- Marthaville
She’Kinya Pipkin- Natchitoches Jr. High
Christian Frazier- NSU Middle Lab
Kendall Presson- Provencal

Nominees for 12th grade included:
Zoie Britt- Lakeview High School

The Student of the Year Interview Committee included Juanita Fowler, Dennis Breeland, Carmella McCart, Linda Page, Katrice Below, Reba Phelps, Sarah Dyson Mallette, and Corey Poole.

In other business, a motion failed to enter an executive session to discuss the interim evaluation of superintendent (Board members Garner, Broadway, Palmer and Phelps voted against entering the session). A committee was formed to look into policies with regard to out of state travel, other other policy issues were mentioned at the meeting. Committee members include Phelps, Harris, Benefield, and Palmer.

Other agenda items included:

Approve a rate of $20 per hour for summer school janitors.
Approval of Minutes of: April 14, 2022; Special Called Meeting April 23rd and 25th, 2022
Out of State Travel to Nevada (Jacqueline Rainwater)
Out of State Travel to Arizona (Jennifer Ingram)
Out of State Travel to Texas (Jennifer Ingram)
Out of State Travel to Florida (Lakeview Basketball)
Out of State Travel to Washington D.C. (Paula Callender)
Out of State Travel to Texas (Lakeview Basketball)
Approve new positions for School Support Specialist assigned to AWARE 2 schools.
Approve Natchitoches Times as the journal for the 2022-2023 school year.
Approve the 2022-2023 NPSB District Handbook.
Approve 2022-2023 NPSB Wellness Policy