Rho Beta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority awards Scholarships to area students

Rho Beta Omega Chapter held its annual Scholarship Recognition Program recently. Scholarship recipients and their parents were in attendance. Eleven students from Lakeview High, Natchitoches Central and Ringgold High School were awarded scholarships.

Raegan Washington, president of Eta Chi Chapter at Northwestern State University served as guest speaker. Mrs. Madeline Valrie, Scholarship Chairman gave words of encouragement to the recipients and was assisted by Mrs. Shondrika Robertson, vice president of Rho Beta Omega Chapter in presenting certificiates of Achievement to the recipients.

Pictured from left are Nekiya McGaskey, Bethany Milner, Mackenzie Johnson, Demarion Sowell, Dalyn Davis, Malajah Golatt, Madison Raymond and Shemaria Harris. Not pictured are Alayshae McNeely, Iria Paige and Kandice Palm.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Incorporated is an international service organization that was founded on the campus of Howard University in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college educated women with 325,000 college-trained members located in 12 countries. Mrs. Loraine Holmes serves as the local chapter president.