Come See a Unique Piece of Louisiana Sports History at the LSHOF – The Heisman Trophy!

Billy Cannon’s 1959 sterling silver Heisman Trophy, the only such trophy to be made of silver, is but a part of the treasure trove of memorabilia now on display at an exhibit honoring Louisiana’s four Heisman Trophy winners. The exhibit, housed at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum, held its ribbon cutting Wednesday, December 7 before a gathering of around 50 sports fans and museum supporters. The evening began with a reception as the crowd enjoyed the displays. The reception was followed by an introduction of guests and champagne toast to the Heisman winners led by retired NSU Sports Information Director and sports oracle, Doug Ireland. Dot Cannon, widow of the legendary Billy Cannon, whose statue greets fans entering LSU’s Tiger Stadium, helped cut the ribbon to officially open the exhibit. She was assisted by Christina Smith, mother of 2020 Heisman winner DeVonta Smith, as well as local residents Valencia Jones, Chairperson of the LSU Board of Supervisors, representing 2019 Winner Joe Burrow, and Former Mayor Wayne McCullen who grew up across the street from 1957 winner John David Crow in Springhill.

Louisiana is not a large state. Our population is a fraction of that of larger states such as Texas, New York or California. We have, nonetheless, produced a phenomenal four Heisman Trophy winners. That is a testament to the depth of athletic talent in the Bayou State and to the quality of our schools’ athletic programs. Louisiana’s legacy of excellence in the Heisman Trophy includes John David Crow (1957), Billy Cannon (1959) Joe Burrow (2019) and DeVonta Smith (2020). Billy Cannon’s Heisman Trophy will be on display until January 4 and will return this summer for the 2023 LSHOF Induction Ceremony. The other memorabilia are now on permanent display at the museum.