NSU hosts 44th Journalism Day

J-Day 2017

More than 250 aspiring journalists and communications professionals and their advisors from 13 middle and high schools throughout Louisiana and east Texas participated in Northwestern State University’s 44th annual Journalism Day Nov. 3. Sponsored by the Department of New Media, Journalism and Communication Arts, the day featured breakout sessions in which panelists discussed aspects of public relations, news writing, radio, TV broadcasting, sports coverage and social media.

As part of the experience, visiting schools were invited to submit publications for competition and to participate in live competitions. Winners are as follows.

Sportswriting – Lauren Rains of the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts, first; Jay Brown of C.E. Byrd High School, second

Photojournalism – Josie Brock of Byrd, first; Melanie Flores of Parkway High School, second; Haleigh Whitehead of Elysian Fields (Texas) High School

Short Film – Alena Noakes, LSMSA, first; Shaun Kilpatrick, Bossier Parish School for Technology and Innovation, second; Hunter Bate, BPSTIL, third

Newswriting – Kelsie Marcentel, Elysian Fields, first; Annabelle Ellis, Elysian Fields, second; Desiree Bailey, BPSTIL, third

Newswriting Live Competition – Kelsie Marcentel, Elysian Fields, first; Anna Grace Barkley, Airline High School, second; William Casey, LSMSA, third

School Newspaper – LSMSA, first; Byrd, second; Elysian Fields, third

School Yearbook – Elysian Fields, first; LSMSA, second; Natchitoches Central High School, third;

Radio Broadcast – Hannah Miller, LSMSA, first; Cailtyn Taylor, NCHS, second; Gavin Horan, Byrd, third

TV Anchor I – Carlin Matthews, St. Thomas More Catholic High School, first; Alena Noakes, LSMSA, second; Micah Lewis, Byrd, third

TV Anchor II – Sarah Pardue, Elysian Fields, first; Mason Adamson, Airline, second; Victoria Sosa, LSMSA, third

Social Media Video Production – Tie: BPSTIL/St. Thomas More

Sarah Pardue of Elysian Fields High Schools was the overall winner and will receive a $1,000 scholarship if she chooses to attend NSU as a communications major and work with student media.

NSU’s Department of New Media, Journalism and Communication Arts offers classes enhanced by hands-on student media experiences in TV, radio, yearbook, newspaper and social media, as well as internships and service learning. For more information, visit nsula.edu/newmedia.

PHOTO CREDIT: Chris Reich/NSU Photographic Services