Banquet recognizes accomplishments of FSP members at LSMSA



Members of the Future Scientist Program at the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts were recognized during the 12th annual banquet held Saturday, April 21, at the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training.

Twenty-one seniors completed FSP and will receive an Excellence in Science award at the senior recognition ceremony. This is the highest honor a department can bestow on an LSMSA student. Students will receive a medal to wear at graduation.

Requirements to receive an excellence in science award at senior recognition include being an ambassador for science and the LSMSA Department of Science; completing an approved research project or perform 80 hours or more of community service; completing 12 hours of science courses above LSMSA requirements; maintaining an overall LSMSA 3.0 grade point average and a science GPA of 3.25, with no grade lower than a C; actively participating in an approved science-related club; and competing in an approved science competition.

Those students were Scott Blazer of Grand Cane, Jerry Chen of New Llano, Kerry Doyle of Eros, Angela Fang of Mandeville, Olivia Gotte of Iota, Sarah Green of Houma, Ruby Kharod of Opelousas, Clara Kolterman of Sterlington, Bryson Landry of Franklin, Amy Liu of Alexandria, Reed Middendorf of Natchitoches, Grayce Mores of Harvey, Bryce Moulton of Natchitoches, Abby Pace of Iowa, Alexis Parsons of Maurice, Emmanuel Perez of Monroe, Marcus Shallow of Elton, Emma Shupe of Baton Rouge, Presley Simmons of Walker, Nathan Ward of Anacoco, and Ariana Yelverton of Rayville.

Seven students will graduate with distinction. They are Kerry Doyle, Angela Fang, Ruby Kharod, Clara Kolterman, Grayce Mores, Abby Pace and Nathan Ward.

Juniors with two-year membership in FSP include Colt Crain of Zachary, Ian Crochet of New Iberia, Myles Fabre of Baton Rouge, Grace Fields of Prairieville, Juliet Flanagan of Pearl River, Manjistha Lakhotia of Lafayette, Oluwatobi Ojemakinde of Shreveport, Ishika Patel of Many, Austin Schulenberg of Baton Rouge, Caitlynn Sengchiam of New Iberia, Collin Serigne of Cut Off, Casey Tonnies of Bossier City, Christopher Tonnies of Bossier City and Benjamin Walker of Mandeville.

New members include Funke Odeleye, a sophomore from Natchitoches; Karan Baker, a sophomore from New Iberia; Marlies Carter, a junior from Madisonville; Heather Collier, a sophomore from Denham Springs; Donavan Dowden, a junior from Shreveport; Aaron Gotte, a sophomore from Iota; Emery Haynes, a sophomore from Prairieville; Samuel Konur, a sophomore from Thibodaux; Kathryn Lee, a sophomore from Natchitoches; Brandon Logan, a junior from Denham Springs; Katie McElveen, a junior from DeRidder; Daniel Metzger, a junior from Slidell; Cooper Miller, a junior from Natchitoches; Sara Mixon, a sophomore from Lake Charles; Linh Nguyen, a sophomore from Lafayette; Madeline O’Connor, a sophomore from Denham Srpings; Madison Saucier, a sophomore from Ponchatoula; Anna Sloan, a sophomore from Denham Springs; Joan Sporer, a junior from Leesville; Jaiden Stark, a junior from DeRidder; Kaitlyn Thompson, a sophomore from Montz; and Nyihaji Woods, a sophomore from Thibodaux.

Capstone Research projects completed by students included:

Kerry Doyle, “Synthesis of N-Substituted Glycine Derivatives as Sterically Tuned Ligands for Aqueous Organometallic Catalysis.”

Marcus Shallow, “Analysis of Potential Pharmacogenomic Applications in Cancer Research: Ethics and Perspectives.”

Emma Shupe, “Developing qPCR Protocol for NSU Microbiology II Course.”