Lions Club holds Awards Banquet, new officers installed

Natchitoches Lions Club members gathered June 24 for the annual awards banquet and new officer installation service. Immediate Past President Laura Rogers passed the gavel over to new President Michele Waskom, who then presented Rogers with a souvenir gavel as a token of thanks for her leadership during the 2018-2019 year. It was engraved with her name and the years she served as president.

Past Council Chair and current Multiple District Global Leadership Team Coordinator Mike Kennedy installed the following 2018-2019 Officers (Mike has been a Lion for 28 years and belongs to the Winnfield Lions Club):

Michele Waskom– President
Josh Pierson- First Vice President
Laura Rogers- Past President
Don Brown- Secretary
Heather Fredieu- Treasurer

Vallery Washington- 1 Year Board Member
Susan Hilton- 1 Year Board Member
Kelli Sampson- 1 Year Board Member
Sarah Giannone- 2 Year Board Member
Brandon McKee- 2 Year Board Member
Eric Gilmore- 2 Year Board Member
Mary Hooper- Lion Tamer
MiMi Stoker- Tail Twister
Corey Poole- Membership Chair

A special treat was the installation of a new member for the Natchitoches Lions Club. Shantura Payne received her pin from her sponsor Vallery Washington and was welcomed as a new member during the banquet.


New Lion of the Year: Sarah Giannone
Lion of the Year: Susan Hilton
Melvin Jones: Josh Pierson

The highest award the Louisiana Lions Camp gives is the Gold Star Award. This year the award was presented to Leta and Gene Spillman who always help feed campers during the summer, and to Lion Don Brown, who is just shy of being a member for 40 years, for his dedication and commitment to not only the Natchitoches Club, but the children and the camp.