Pi Kappa Phi member named ‘Mr. Northwestern State University’

Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity member Char’Tarian has been named 2019 ‘Mr. NSU,’ the highest honor a Northwestern State University student can receive. Wilson, along with ‘Ms. NSU,’ Shelby Sullivan, were selected by the student body as part of a continuing tradition dating back to 1956.

The Student Government Association holds elections for the honor each fall semester, with Mr. and Ms. NSU being presented at a home football game. These two outstanding students can be seen at other campus events and activities throughout the year.

“Words can not express the emotions that are running through my head at this moment,” Wilson said. “Northwestern State University has given me so much: opportunity, friendship, challenges, confidence, memories to cherish for a lifetime and so much more. This place holds a special place in my heart and my love for those three columns shall ‘ever reign.’”

Wilson, a senior biology major, plans to obtain a Masters in Physician’s Assistant and enter the medical field.

Char is very involved on campus, having served as Secretary of Pi Kappa Phi, Event Coordinator of the Student Activities Board, Vice President of the NSU Interfraternity Council, President’s Leadership Program, Demon Days Committee, Spirit of Northwestern Marching Band, NSU concert band, NASA JOVE research program, Alpha Lambda Delta First Year Honor Society, Freshman Connection, and NSU Cheer.

He was elected to the NSU Homecoming honor court and was 2018 NSU Homecoming King. In 2018, he was inducted into the NSU chapter of Order of Omega and in 2019 was selected for Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society.

Wilson, who was named to Pi Kappa Phi’s 2019 Ad Astra Society recognizing the top one percent of students nationwide, has attended both Pi Kapp College for Chapter Officers and Pi Kapp College for Emerging Leaders. He is also a recipient of both the David D. Morgan ‘Extra Mile’ Scholarship and the Morgan First Generation Scholarship.

Wilson joins three other Pi Kapps as recipients of the ‘Mr. NSU’ honor: Jake Bryan in 2012, L.C. Cathey in 1960 and Roland McKneely, Jr. in 1961.

One thought on “Pi Kappa Phi member named ‘Mr. Northwestern State University’

Comments are closed.