LSMSA Foundation Celebrates Donors, Honors Longtime Contributors

More than 50 donors, volunteers and representatives from the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA) attended the LSMSA Foundation’s ninth annual 1983 Society Celebration held in Lafayette on Saturday, Oct. 26.

The evening also included the sixth presentation of the Wingspan Awards for Dedication to celebrate those who demonstrate meaningful and extraordinary support for LSMSA, a state residential high school in Natchitoches.

This year’s recipients were Kirby and Jennifer Hopkins of The Woodlands, TX; James Fortenberry of Spearsville, LA; and John Normand of London, England.

1994 LSMSA graduate Kirby Hopkins is a former trustee of the LSMSA Foundation and president-elect of the Alumni Association. Both he and his wife, 1995 LSMSA graduate Dr. Jennifer Chen Hopkins, have been active participants at school events for more than a decade, longtime donors to the 1983 Society, and active school advocates both on campus and in The Woodlands, where they live. Their award was presented by LSMSA Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton and LSMSA alumnus and supporter Matthew Couvillion.

Class of 1991 LSMSA alumnus James Fortenberry is responsible for building a strong regional group of alumni in Northeast Louisiana that gathers bi-annually and directly helps younger alumni get plugged in with school events. Involved with LSMSA athletics, James has served as a referee at school homecoming games. An active volleyball tournament attendee both on campus and in West Monroe, James Fortenberry was honored by LSMSA Coach Dale Clingerman.

Longtime supporter John Normand graduated from LSMSA in 1989 and has served the Foundation in many capacities, including as Treasurer of the Board of Trustees. Even after relocating to London, England, John remained an active contributor and has hosted two international events for the school. Known among his peers for helping the Foundation’s financial planning, investment strategy and financial stability grow and succeed, John Normand was honored in absentia by Foundation Executive Director Angela Couvillion.

Previous recipients of the Wingspan Award include Barbara Bourgoyne (’88); Tesia Campbell (’97); Ryan Farr (’90); Mary Green; Nolan Huguet (’91); Michael Robertson (’91); Dewey Scandurro (’86); Gueydon Thurber; Christie Weeks; Pat and Betsy Widhalm; and Art and Sharon Williams.

“Our alumni, parents, and other donors continue to amaze and inspire us,” said Foundation Executive Director and LSMSA alumnus Angela Robinson Couvillion. “All of these award recipients have not only been instrumental in the Foundation’s growth, but also remind us how far and wide the LSMSA Eagles’ impact can reach when we focus and persevere. It is a privilege to congratulate Kirby and Jennifer Hopkins, James Fortenberry, and John Normand as Wingspan Award for Dedication honorees.”

The 1983 Society celebrates and recognizes the school’s most loyal and committed supporters. Annual contributions of $1,983 or more honor the year the school was established and qualify individuals or organizations for membership in the 1983 Society. The LSMSA Foundation raises money to support the school’s mission of providing a world-class education for the state’s high-achieving, highly motivated students.

Pictured above: LSMSA alumni and 2019 Wingspan Award for Dedication recipients (L to R): Kirby Hopkins (’94), Dr. Jennifer Chen Hopkins (’95) and James Fortenberry (’91). Not pictured: John Normand (’89).